Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-18-2019, 03:26 AM   #1
jbacelar
Interested in the matter
jbacelar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jbacelar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jbacelar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jbacelar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jbacelar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jbacelar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jbacelar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jbacelar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jbacelar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jbacelar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jbacelar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
jbacelar's Avatar
 
Posts: 296
Karma: 426060
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Spain, south coast
Device: Pocketbook Touch HD
Smile Calibre 4.2

Thank you very much Kovid.
jbacelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 03:35 AM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 35,511
Karma: 12737927
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
You're welcome
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 10-18-2019, 06:19 AM   #3
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 14,904
Karma: 12631370
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbacelar View Post
Thank you very much Kovid.
↑ ↑ ↑ ✔ ++

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 07:19 AM   #4
ohIdon'tknow
Member
ohIdon'tknow began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 16
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: The People's Republic of... to be honest, now that you ask, it seems to have entirely slipped my mind... oh well!
Device: kobo Aura One, Samsung tablet, Necronomicon - extra evil version
QApplication: invalid style

I've just updated to Calibre 4.2 and am unable to successfully open the application. The GUI will not load properly. All I can see are the right-click menus.

When attempting to launch via the terminal I have the report:

QApplication: invalid style override passed, ignoring it.
Available styles: Windows, Fusion
libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile

I am using Calibre 4.2 with Elementary OS Juno.
ohIdon'tknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 09:04 AM   #5
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 35,511
Karma: 12737927
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
That's probably because elementary OS tries to override the styles in Qt applications with their own and it is breaking with the version of Qt shipped with calibre. They likely do it via some environment variable or the other. Unset itand you will be fine.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 10-18-2019, 11:21 AM   #6
nqk
Addict
nqk doesn't litternqk doesn't litter
 
Posts: 310
Karma: 130
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Samsung Galaxy Tab 8.9
Dear Kovid, footnotes are not popping up at all.
nqk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 11:32 AM   #7
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 35,511
Karma: 12737927
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
They pop up fine for me.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 02:14 PM   #8
ohIdon'tknow
Member
ohIdon'tknow began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 16
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: The People's Republic of... to be honest, now that you ask, it seems to have entirely slipped my mind... oh well!
Device: kobo Aura One, Samsung tablet, Necronomicon - extra evil version
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
That's probably because elementary OS tries to override the styles in Qt applications with their own and it is breaking with the version of Qt shipped with calibre. They likely do it via some environment variable or the other. Unset itand you will be fine.
I tried resetting the environment but there's no difference. However, I think the problem might be not be with Elementary's environment but instead with Elementary Tweaks - a 3rd party addition to the settings. Tweaks may very well have bunged up the works. Which is perhaps why Calibre re-emerged when I used Tweaks to change the GTK Theme from Elementary to Pop Dark.

I would disable Tweaks but Elementary OS without Tweaks is nearly unusable. I'll just have to get used to the Pop Dark theme. Probably better for my eyes anyway.

Thanks for the help. And thanks for Calibre.
ohIdon'tknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 05:50 PM   #9
deback
Book E d i t o r
deback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the end
 
Posts: 349
Karma: 31930
Join Date: May 2015
Device: Laptop
The file viewer in the editor in 4.2 is now working like it used to. It's much faster now. Thanks for fixing this, even though you might not have realized you fixed it.

(Disregard the above. It has not been fixed, as I've stated in a follow-up post in this thread.)

Last edited by deback; 10-20-2019 at 12:53 PM.
deback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 06:49 AM   #10
Rev. Bob
Wizard
Rev. Bob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rev. Bob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rev. Bob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rev. Bob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rev. Bob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rev. Bob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rev. Bob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rev. Bob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rev. Bob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rev. Bob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rev. Bob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Rev. Bob's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,665
Karma: 9393510
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Here on the perimeter, there are no stars
Device: Kobo Glo, Kobo H2O, Kindle Touch
I have noticed a new bug in the "review downloaded metadata" window. To replicate:

1. Highlight a few books in calibre's library. (I used five; fewer may work, but it must be more than one to trigger the bug.)
2. Right-click, select Edit metadata > Download metadata and covers.
3. Click Download only metadata, then click Review downloaded metadata when the job completes.
4. Once the first book comes up, go to Tags in the left-hand column (the downloaded data) and type the first couple of letters of a tag.
5. When the autocomplete list pops up, use the down-arrow key to move the highlight bar down to the last item displayed.
6. Tap the down-arrow key one more time.

Instead of scrolling to show the next tag in the list, calibre completely closes.

(Using 4.2 on Win32, with a development environment. The one different source file in my devenv is completely unrelated to this function.)
Rev. Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 07:44 AM   #11
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 35,511
Karma: 12737927
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
@Rev. Bob. doesn't crash on my windows machine. Note that you can test that dialog more easily with


calibre-debug src/calibre/gui2/metadata/diff.py
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 08:39 AM   #12
Buckskin
Junior Member
Buckskin began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2015
Device: Sony PRS-T1
In Win 10 64 Bit drop down boxes in Edit Metadata do not allow data entry without mouse clicking after every character
Buckskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 10:56 AM   #13
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 24,047
Karma: 27923385
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: K4NT, Galaxy Tab A, Kobo Aura2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckskin View Post
In Win 10 64 Bit drop down boxes in Edit Metadata do not allow data entry without mouse clicking after every character
I can make entries without using the mouse (w10x64).
Type a few letters, use down arrow to pick, enter to accept pick

EDIT
Was this a pure (predefined drop down, or one like Tags

Last edited by theducks; 10-20-2019 at 10:58 AM. Reason: Brain storm
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 11:15 AM   #14
Buckskin
Junior Member
Buckskin began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2015
Device: Sony PRS-T1
Tags and Series. Authors seems to be OK
Buckskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 12:35 PM   #15
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 24,047
Karma: 27923385
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: K4NT, Galaxy Tab A, Kobo Aura2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckskin View Post
Tags and Series. Authors seems to be OK
Both those work also. Type sc and the list reduces down to those that start with Sc
FWIW I use this feature a lot
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre plus Moon + Reader Pro - How to Make Calibre Library Sync to My Shelf? bookiebabe Related Tools 5 02-09-2017 03:47 AM
Calibre Sync on Android stopped working properly with recent version of Calibre? khahoon Calibre 5 07-06-2013 09:14 AM
How do I import Calibre settings from regular Win Calibre to Calibre Portable? ABW Calibre 9 05-20-2013 03:34 PM
Can not start recoll from calibre /opt/calibre/lib/libz.so.1: no version information Satas Development 5 04-20-2013 12:22 AM
Patch: Calibre adds tags to identify ebook formats created by calibre. siebert Calibre 1 07-18-2011 03:07 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:30 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.