![]() |
#1 |
Connoisseur
![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 68
Karma: 203
Join Date: Oct 2007
Device: Razr/iLiad
|
Networking problems/questions...
Hi,
I have installed mrxvg (wallcraft), dillo, and pieces of unbrickable. I have a wireless profile with wpa as the default profile to use. I start the wireless net with the start script from the dillo package: Code:
root@ereader:/media/cf/Programs/connection-scripts-1/0_lan_on# cat start.sh export scriptdir=`/usr/bin/dirname $0` cd $scriptdir connectionMgr --background --stay-connected Here is the output from ifconfig: Code:
lo Link encap:Local Loopback inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0 UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1 RX packets:1270 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0 TX packets:1270 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0 collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 RX bytes:41891 (40.9 KiB) TX bytes:41891 (40.9 KiB) wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr <redacted> inet addr:192.168.1.102 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0 UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1 RX packets:2607 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0 TX packets:1758 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0 collisions:0 txqueuelen:100 RX bytes:210546 (205.6 KiB) TX bytes:389139 (380.0 KiB) Interrupt:68 I can start dropbear and netstat will show that it is running. (I start from mrxvt). A ugly problem is that it appears that the iLiad is not broadcasting ARP info. This means that none of the computers on my local net can "see" the iLiad. I have found that if I ping one of my local computers that I want to run ssh from to connect to the iLiad that the arp table will recognize the iLiads IP and then I can ssh to the iLiad. I still get occasional freezes on my mac when ssh'ing to theiLiad. Pinging the Mac from the iLiad seems to fix this problem for a while... If I try and ifdown wlan0, ifdown reports that it is ignoring wlan0? Trying to run scp from the iLiad gives a funky message Code:
root@ereader:/media/cf/Programs/connection-scripts-1/0_lan_on# scp start.sh jerry@192.168.1.80:foo /usr/bin/dbclient: No such file or directory lost connection Any I doing something wrong? Jerry Last edited by grayfox; 10-22-2007 at 05:01 PM. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2 |
Connoisseur
![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 68
Karma: 203
Join Date: Oct 2007
Device: Razr/iLiad
|
After some more experimention it appears that I must ping
a member of the local net before I can connect to the iLiad from the local net....? Seems like the (local) routing is some how not properly being initialized on the iLiad. Running the connection command Code:
connectionMgr --background --stay-connected of output that gives the appearance of trying to connect to the iRex servers... (and ifconfig shows that the net is up ) T'aint clear why pinging a local node clears the problem. Jerry |
![]() |
![]() |
Advert | |
|
![]() |
#3 |
Connoisseur
![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 68
Karma: 203
Join Date: Oct 2007
Device: Razr/iLiad
|
Well,
I decided to skip the connection manager and installed Alanine's Nifty Wireless Tools which directly call the wireless setup procedure. I still have the same problem with having to ping some local network computer before wireless communications can take place between the iLiad and any other machine on the local net. I am using WPA, does anyone else have this problem? Doh! Jerry |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#4 |
Addicted to Porting
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 1,697
Karma: 7194
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Device: iRex iLiad, Nokia 770, Samsung i760
|
I haven't been able to get around this problem either. I just use wired any time I need to connect to the iLiad from another machine.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#5 |
Connoisseur
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 54
Karma: 399
Join Date: Sep 2007
Device: iLiad v2
|
I don't have this problem at all. After I start iliad's wireless network (using my script or a plain shell script that calls wireless.sh start), I can connect to it with no problem. My wireless router even assigned it a hostname called "ereader" automatically, so all I do is "ssh root@ereader".
Perhaps it's something with DHCP? Last edited by alanine; 10-23-2007 at 10:48 PM. |
![]() |
![]() |
Advert | |
|
![]() |
#6 |
Connoisseur
![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 68
Karma: 203
Join Date: Oct 2007
Device: Razr/iLiad
|
Well this is just weird...
Yesterday wireless+ssh was a disaster. The connection would lockup every thirty seconds or less ![]() This morning it appears to be rock solid. Go figure... Jerry |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7 |
Connoisseur
![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 68
Karma: 203
Join Date: Oct 2007
Device: Razr/iLiad
|
Ugh,
I spoke too soon. I just rebooted and restarted wireless with dropbear. I am lucky to get two or three commands before a lockup. I have a "Ping" iLiad thingy that clears the stall, but who wants to keep clicking the tablet every thirty seconds |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8 |
Entrepreneur
![]() Posts: 36
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: California
Device: Iliad v2
|
I'll tell you what this sounds like, it sounds like your Illiad and something else are sharing the same IP address. Basically if the arp table is getting screwed up by the other device (what ever it is).
So try this, note the IP address of your Illiad, turn it off, try to ping that IP address and see if you get a response. I had a similar problem when I had aliased one of the network adapters on a development machine and didn't notice it because the 'main' IP address was clearly unique! --Chuck |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#9 | |
Junior Member
![]() Posts: 8
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2007
Device: iLiad
|
Quote:
I open a connection using either connectionMgr or wireless.sh (either directly or with alanine's scripts) with wpa encryption. Then everything works well until I start doing something else on the GUI - like browse my books in the content lister. The more I browse, the more packages from my ping requests are dropped until at some point the connection is lost all toghether. To me it seems like one of these 'issues with badly coded drivers which don't like having few cpu time' which Mathjes talked about a while ago. But seriously, something is very wrong here and it is not the linux kernel. I had more stable lan connections on my 486dx2 with Windows 98. My iPAQ 3130 which doesn't have even half the computing power of an iLiad but had double the functionality (at least after I installed linux on it ![]() I will do some further investigation on the correlation between system load and connection loss. Just on a side note, for some reason wired.sh fails to open a wired connection. It brings up the ethernet device alright but the ethernet LED's on the travel hub aren't flashing and I can't ping into or out of the iLiad. Am I forgetting something? Last edited by HET2; 11-03-2007 at 09:31 AM. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#10 |
Connoisseur
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 54
Karma: 399
Join Date: Sep 2007
Device: iLiad v2
|
I'm starting to have similar issues with wireless network after I installed a new 4GB CF card. Previously I was always using the internal memory and never had an issue.
I did an experiment. I set the news button to open the folder on internal memory, and put my network package there. Then I yanked out the CF card, and start my wireless network script to connect. After it's connected I then start a ping program from my computer to ping the ereader. At this point all seem to work until the moment I insert the CF card. Wireless network dies immediately. The second experiment is to start the network while keep CF card always inserted. Note that I still start the network script via the news section stored on the internal memory. I was able to start wireless network many times, and it works. But as soon as I SSH into it and start to SCP files from a remote computer, the wireless network becomes rather problematic, and often dies after the SCP finishes. The third experiement is to start the network script from a directory on CF card, it actually fails to start very often. I tried the ping-from-another-host method before I start the network, it works sometimes, but also fails some other time. So definitely the wireless network has got some bug related to acessing external storage like a CF card, because every time I insert the CF card, the wireless network dies. Very reproducible, EVERYTIME. I wonder if it's my brand new Sandisk 4GB CF card that's causing the problem, or indeed an issue with iliad software (or hardware). Can somebody try it and confirm if you have the same problem? Last edited by alanine; 11-04-2007 at 05:49 PM. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#11 | |
Junior Member
![]() Posts: 8
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2007
Device: iLiad
|
Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Firmware Update USB networking for 2.5? | dd_engi | Amazon Kindle | 9 | 05-09-2010 06:45 AM |
Seriously thoughtful Networking questions | HarryT | Lounge | 5 | 11-30-2009 09:49 AM |
Social networking? | rahlquist | News | 7 | 08-25-2009 09:15 PM |
Help, I broke networking... | grayfox | iRex | 6 | 10-25-2007 04:55 AM |