![]() |
#571 |
Linux User
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 2,282
Karma: 6123806
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Device: none
|
Busybox zcat does not throw any errors at all.
Real zcat would throw an error, unless the cutoff happened to be a valid boundary. tar throws an error unless it would happen to be cut off at a valid boundary for both gzip and tar. Whether that is likely to exist depends on how the tgz was created. Code:
[root@(none) shm]# tar cfz Test.tgz /usr/local/Kobo/ tar: removing leading '/' from member names [root@(none) shm]# ls -alh Test.tgz -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 19.8M Dec 14 16:28 Test.tgz [root@(none) shm]# zcat Test.tgz > /dev/null && echo OK || echo FAIL OK [root@(none) shm]# tar tzf Test.tgz > /dev/null && echo OK || echo FAIL OK ### now cut off some bytes ### [root@(none) shm]# dd of=Test.tgz bs=1M seek=18 count=0 0+0 records in 0+0 records out 0 bytes (0B) copied, 0.004449 seconds, 0B/s [root@(none) shm]# ls -alh Test.tgz -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 18.0M Dec 14 16:29 Test.tgz ### zcat does not notice the problem, but tar does ### [root@(none) shm]# zcat Test.tgz > /dev/null && echo OK || echo FAIL OK [root@(none) shm]# tar tzf Test.tgz > /dev/null && echo OK || echo FAIL tar: short read FAIL |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#572 |
Grand Sorcerer
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 13,338
Karma: 78876004
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Device: Libra H2O, Libra Colour
|
I've past this discussion on to Kobo and will see what they say.
|
![]() |
![]() |
Advert | |
|
![]() |
#573 |
Wizard
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 3,489
Karma: 2914715
Join Date: Jun 2012
Device: kobo touch
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#574 |
Resident Curmudgeon
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 79,275
Karma: 145488788
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roslindale, Massachusetts
Device: Kobo Libra 2, Kobo Aura H2O, PRS-650, PRS-T1, nook STR, PW3
|
I was reading earlier today and I noticed that there was a word hyphenated on the first line of the first paragraph of the chapter. Does this mean that the bug of not having a hyphen in the first line of a paragraph is now fixed?
This is with firmware 3.12.0. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#575 |
Junior Member
![]() Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2014
Device: Kobo Aura SD
|
Hi;
I'm new to this forum and am having an issue with the new 3.12.0 software and Kobo's customer support has not been helpful. It seems like the "Refresh every: Chapter" option makes the screen go black between pages with every page turned forward or backward. The "10", "5" and "1" page options work 'properly', but I'd rather have it refresh every chapter, obviously. Has anyone noticed this? Is this a bug or is this something you all know how to fix? thanks |
![]() |
![]() |
Advert | |
|
![]() |
#576 |
Junior Member
![]() Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2014
Device: kobo aura
|
Same story here. I bought the Aura specifically for the "refresh every chapter" option as the refreshes on e-ink readers make me dizzy. It worked at first and now mine operates exactly like yours. I've notified Kobo who tells me the problem has been "elevated" and is "being worked on". About a week ago they told me it would probably be fixed in about "48 hours" and I should be able to update at that point and it would be fine. NOT. If this doesn't get fixed, I need to return the Kobo.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#577 | |
Resident Curmudgeon
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 79,275
Karma: 145488788
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roslindale, Massachusetts
Device: Kobo Libra 2, Kobo Aura H2O, PRS-650, PRS-T1, nook STR, PW3
|
Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#578 |
Junior Member
![]() Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2014
Device: kobo aura
|
My Aura can be set for every 10 pages, but I want it to refresh every chapter as advertised. That is THE feature that determined my purchase. If it is every chapter, I can anticipate the refresh and avoid looking at the device. E-reader refreshes make me DIZZY.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#579 | |
Wizard
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 2,454
Karma: 5469320
Join Date: Jul 2010
Device: Kobo
|
Quote:
If you scrounge around in the forum it is relatively easy (just a line to add in the config file maybe?) to set the device to only refresh every xx pages (up to once every 99 pages). May not be a perfect solution, but if you really like the device otherwise it might get you through until it gets fixed. EDIT: sorry, just realized you wanted end of chapter so you can anticipate it so this solution likely isn't going to help. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#580 |
Junior Member
![]() Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2014
Device: kobo aura
|
Thank you. I wish I knew what "just a line to add in the config file" means!
![]() Is there a way to revert to the previous firmware? I've been reading here for an hour, and I gather that would be 3.11.0. Thanks again. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#581 |
Resident Curmudgeon
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 79,275
Karma: 145488788
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roslindale, Massachusetts
Device: Kobo Libra 2, Kobo Aura H2O, PRS-650, PRS-T1, nook STR, PW3
|
Current firmware 3.12.0.
Previous firmware 3.11.0 |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#582 |
Junior Member
![]() Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2014
Device: kobo aura
|
Great, so if I'm having a problem with 3.12.0 and want to revert to 3.11.0, how do I do that?
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#583 | |
Resident Curmudgeon
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 79,275
Karma: 145488788
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roslindale, Massachusetts
Device: Kobo Libra 2, Kobo Aura H2O, PRS-650, PRS-T1, nook STR, PW3
|
Quote:
https://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=185660 |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#584 |
Groupie
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 197
Karma: 82624
Join Date: May 2013
Device: Kobo Forma, Kobo Aura One, Kobo Aura HD, Kindle, Amazon Fire HD
|
No i have this with Aura HD firmware 3.12.0.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#585 | |
Junior Member
![]() Posts: 8
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2014
Device: Kobo Aura HD
|
I will copy/paste from other thread
Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Tags |
pocket app |
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Probably a Kobo bug. | eXistenZ | Kobo Reader | 19 | 06-13-2014 09:16 PM |
[Old Thread] Bug in downloading metadata | Dasun | Library Management | 3 | 03-21-2011 07:31 PM |
Possible bug or misfeature when a thread is closed | tompe | Feedback | 7 | 10-05-2010 09:38 AM |