![]() |
#1 | |
Junior Member
![]() Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2023
Device: Onyx BOOX Note Air2 Plus
|
Unable to build calibre-6.29.0 on Ubuntu 23.04+
Hi!
I'm unable to build Calibre 6.29.0 on Ubuntu 23.10. I'm getting the following error: Quote:
Can you please advise? For reference, this is the recipe I'm following (with minor tweaks): https://github.com/debian-calibre/ca.../master/debian Thank you! Jhonny Oliveira https://xtradeb.net |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2 |
creator of calibre
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 45,029
Karma: 27109760
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
|
that means the version of sip-build on your system no longer supports some command line options calibre uses when building pyqt extensions. It should be a fairly simple patch to setup/build.py to fix it.
|
![]() |
![]() |
Advert | |
|
![]() |
#3 |
creator of calibre
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 45,029
Karma: 27109760
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
|
No actually those options come from pyqtbuild not sipbuild and they are present at least in pyqt-builder 1.15.3 No idea why they are missing on your system
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#4 | ||
Junior Member
![]() Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2023
Device: Onyx BOOX Note Air2 Plus
|
I tried removing the offending parameters
Quote:
Quote:
|
||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#5 |
Junior Member
![]() Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2023
Device: Onyx BOOX Note Air2 Plus
|
For furhter reference:
- Ubuntu 22.04 - python3-pyqtbuild 1.12.2+dfsg-1 - python3-sipbuild 6.6.2+dfsg-1~xtradeb1 - python3-pyqt6.sip 13.4.0-1~xtradeb1 - Ubuntu 23.10 - python3-pyqtbuild 1.15.2+dfsg-1 - python3-sipbuild 6.7.11+dfsg-1 - python3-pyqt6.sip 13.5.2-1 Is there anything else I can provide or do to help sorting this out? |
![]() |
![]() |
Advert | |
|
![]() |
#6 |
creator of calibre
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 45,029
Karma: 27109760
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
|
No idea, basically that error means sip-build is either not loading pyqt-build or pyqt-build is broken on the system. There isnt anything I can do about it from calibre. You need working pyqt-build to build calibre.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7 | |
Junior Member
![]() Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2023
Device: Onyx BOOX Note Air2 Plus
|
Hi!
I looked into the changes prior to the failure and I found a workaround. See patch below. Both, my local environment and launchpad.net (https://launchpad.net/~xtradeb/+arch...-archive-extra) are affected by the lines I'm removing as part of the workaround. Strangely enough, the official source build system is not: https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/calibre/7.0.0+ds-1 I'm not very knowledgeable in python. So, could you you please provide me a small patch to dump those variables (QMAKE_*) into to the build log? Hopefully, we will be able to understand why the build fails from it. Quote:
Last edited by xtradeb; 11-24-2023 at 01:20 PM. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8 |
Resident Curmudgeon
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 78,522
Karma: 142993688
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roslindale, Massachusetts
Device: Kobo Libra 2, Kobo Aura H2O, PRS-650, PRS-T1, nook STR, PW3
|
Now you can try building calibre 7.10.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#9 |
creator of calibre
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 45,029
Karma: 27109760
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
|
Code:
print(open(os.path.join(src_dir, 'pyproject.toml')).read()) |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#10 | |
Junior Member
![]() Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2023
Device: Onyx BOOX Note Air2 Plus
|
Hi!
You can find resulting [tool.sip.builder] below, as you can see both QMAKE_*FLAGS are broken due to un-escaped quotes. Quote:
Thank you! |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#11 | |
Junior Member
![]() Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2023
Device: Onyx BOOX Note Air2 Plus
|
Hi again!
I came up with this patch: Quote:
Thank you! |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#12 |
creator of calibre
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 45,029
Karma: 27109760
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
|
Well, the correct solution is to use the correct escaping algorithm for strings in toml. Sadly the python stdlib stupidly doesnt have a way to write toml despite python blessing toml as its build configuration format. I dont know what's going on in python land these days but they really do some of the most boneheaded things.
This should fix it as a practical matter https://github.com/kovidgoyal/calibr...a3416b0bacfb8d |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#13 |
Junior Member
![]() Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2023
Device: Onyx BOOX Note Air2 Plus
|
It works. Thank you very much!
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Unable to run calibre on Ubuntu VPS | gourav | Devices | 2 | 10-16-2020 02:03 PM |
Unable to update Calibre (Ubuntu) since 2.76 | spliton210 | Calibre | 3 | 02-17-2017 08:01 AM |
Unable to install calibre 0.8.52 on Ubuntu 12.04!! | calibrenewbie | Calibre | 2 | 07-23-2012 08:10 AM |
Ubuntu build instructions | grep | Calibre | 2 | 11-08-2011 07:20 AM |
Ubuntu 10.10 build problem. | dablya | Development | 3 | 03-11-2011 11:04 PM |