Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Recipes

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-14-2020, 12:11 AM   #1
rasteps
Junior Member
rasteps began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2010
Device: prs-600
Language for recipe covers

I have been looking for the answer to this question for weeks and hit a dead end.

I am using a Windows 10 64bit machine. And I have calibre set up with an English language interface, and my news feed dialog is also in English except for the days of the week. This is not a problem, except for news recipes which output the date on the cover.

I have tried setting the environment language override variable to no avail.

How can I change the news feed setting to see English dates?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	the japan times.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	62.1 KB
ID:	176390   Click image for larger version

Name:	cover.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	16.4 KB
ID:	176391  
rasteps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 02:32 AM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 35,876
Karma: 12750379
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
date formatting uses the sytem locale not calibre interface language, since language is not quite enough information to determine how to format dates.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 01-15-2020, 07:51 AM   #3
rasteps
Junior Member
rasteps began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2010
Device: prs-600
Can this be overridden in anyway?
rasteps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 07:57 AM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 35,876
Karma: 12750379
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Set the locale related enviornment variables, LANG and LCALL that might work, though am not sure if it will on windows.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 11:45 PM   #5
rasteps
Junior Member
rasteps began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2010
Device: prs-600
I tried using the following shortcut command to launch calibre:

C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe /c "SET LC_ALL=en_US && START /D ^"C:\Users\XXXX\Desktop\PortableApps\Calibre Portable^" calibre-portable.exe"

but the result was the same.....no joy.
rasteps is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 01-16-2020, 12:06 AM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 35,876
Karma: 12750379
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Then your only option is changing the system locale.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 12:46 AM   #7
rasteps
Junior Member
rasteps began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2010
Device: prs-600
Okay. I took your advice and change the system locale using LC_ALL = en_US and rebooted, but there is no change .....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	env.var.png
Views:	6
Size:	494.3 KB
ID:	176459  
rasteps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 12:51 AM   #8
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 35,876
Karma: 12750379
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Your windows user interface language has to be in english, changing the envirnment variable wont do anything, since apparently env vars are not used on windows.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 07:36 PM   #9
rasteps
Junior Member
rasteps began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2010
Device: prs-600
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Your windows user interface language has to be in english, changing the envirnment variable wont do anything, since apparently env vars are not used on windows.
That's what I was afraid of.... How is it that my Calibre interface is completely in English but the newsfeed part cannot be? ... Then again.. Calibre does so much. I guess it's greedy to ask for more.

Thank you for your advice. I will give up now.
rasteps is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When Calibre convert, the input language is zh-tw, but the output language become zh wealthtsay Conversion 14 06-06-2019 04:55 PM
How to manually set the language for each source of the news recipe? mendesitba Recipes 6 04-02-2015 07:42 PM
Recipe for Nuus24 (Afrikaans language, South Africa) buzzlightyear Recipes 0 08-16-2013 03:50 PM
Custom news recipe default language ppclarke Recipes 2 04-13-2012 08:58 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:39 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.