![]() |
#31 |
Carpe diem, c'est la vie.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 6,433
Karma: 10773668
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Multiverse 6627A
Device: K1 to PW3
|
The framework login is very restricted. About the only thing it is good for is "cat /etc/shadow". Then copy your scrollback buffer into a shadow file on the host PC, and crack it with John the Ripper and my fiona wordlist.
But the easiest way to get the root password is to use the web page that lets you type in your kindle serial number and it tells you your root password. Look in the Tools index wiki. EDIT: Okay, I looked up the password links for you: https://wiki.mobileread.com/wiki/Tools_Index#Password You can get your serial number in the settings "information" menu, or by using Sir Alex's KDT program. We do not encourage ad removal, but that information is not forbidden here, and you can find links to threads and kindle hacking wikis in the "kindle index wikis" that tell you how to do it. Start at the "master index" sticky thread... Last edited by geekmaster; 09-12-2012 at 12:00 AM. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#32 |
Junior Member
![]() Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2012
Device: KSO 4 NT
|
Thanks for your speedy response. I had actually been to the password generator an hour or two ago and tried the password it generated for me. It didn't work. So I looked at it again after you posted it and realized I had typed in the letters for my serial number in lowercase. Capital letters totally matter in hex. Smacks forehead. What a noobie mistake. So I tried the new password and it worked like a charm. Root access and entered the code in fine and bam. No ads. Thanks a bunch! You have been extremely helpful.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#33 | |
Junior Member
![]() Posts: 8
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2012
Device: Kindle 4
|
Please some help
Quote:
Code:
if [ -e /mnt/us/RUNME.sh ]; then sh /mnt/us/RUNME.sh fi "/mnt/us/RUNME.sh: line 6: syntax error: unexpected end of file (expecting "then")" So I changed it to: Code:
if [ -e /mnt/us/RUNME.sh ]; then [ sh /mnt/us/RUNME.sh] fi "sh: /mnt/us/RUNME.sh: unknown operand" What should I do to get it right? |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#34 |
Going Viral
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 17,212
Karma: 18210809
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Texas
Device: No K1, PW2, KV, KOA
|
Change the line endings from Windows to Unix.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#35 |
Junior Member
![]() Posts: 8
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2012
Device: Kindle 4
|
How?
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#36 |
Going Viral
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 17,212
Karma: 18210809
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Texas
Device: No K1, PW2, KV, KOA
|
Depends on what text editor you are using, in some cases what version of the text editor you are using.
Note (no pun intended): I recently read a post that line ending conversion was taken out of notepad++ (the prior standard editor). Here is a good one (text editors are a personal choice, everyone has their own favorite): http://www.geany.org/Download/Releases#windows Pick the binary that is named "full installer ..." and it will just work. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#37 |
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°){ʇlnɐɟ ƃǝs}Týr
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 6,586
Karma: 6299991
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: uti gratia usura (Yao ying da ying; Mo ying da yieng)
Device: PW-WIFI|K5-3G+WIFI| K4|K3-3G|DXG|K2| Rooted Nook Touch
|
Hi Knc1. Just to clarify they actually haven't removed it.
They just moved the menu item into something like "EOL OPERATIONS -> CONVERT -> UNIX" as opposed to where it used to live in the main toolbar. My apologies if the post was misleading, I'll go and amend it with this extra info. So, yeah, what Knc1 said. or you can also use Notepad++. CAVEAT just be aware that IF you use Winscp to transfer files ONTO your device. Winscp will automatically a) fix your line-ending to Unix b) resolve all symbolic links to their parent object when copying onto FAT (cool ey ![]() but this has an implication. Check that you actually do have the right file types before packaging it up for general use as others may transfer it with native unix tools. Hope that helps. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#38 |
Going Viral
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 17,212
Karma: 18210809
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Texas
Device: No K1, PW2, KV, KOA
|
Geany is a Lua / GTK app -
It might "just work" on a Kindle with a touch of re-compiling for ARM. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#39 | |
Carpe diem, c'est la vie.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 6,433
Karma: 10773668
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Multiverse 6627A
Device: K1 to PW3
|
Quote:
Code:
if [ -e /mnt/us/RUNME.sh ];
then [ sh /mnt/us/RUNME.sh ]
fi
"if [[ -e /mnt/us/RUNME.sh ]]" instead (even though it is less "condensed")... ![]() Last edited by geekmaster; 10-05-2012 at 12:31 PM. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#40 |
Junior Member
![]() Posts: 8
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2012
Device: Kindle 4
|
It works!
Thank you so much, knc1. I did change the line endings from Win to Unix on Vim and it work.
And, geekmaster, I did it before, but the real problem was the line endings. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#41 |
hobbyist
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 37
Karma: 6494
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NY, USA
Device: Kindle 4 NT (Non-Touch)
|
How do you get SSL access? I know you nees to get into DIAGS, but how?
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#42 | |
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°){ʇlnɐɟ ƃǝs}Týr
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 6,586
Karma: 6299991
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: uti gratia usura (Yao ying da ying; Mo ying da yieng)
Device: PW-WIFI|K5-3G+WIFI| K4|K3-3G|DXG|K2| Rooted Nook Touch
|
Quote:
https://wiki.mobileread.com/wiki/Kindle4NTHacking Give that a read. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Secure_Sockets_Layer) is ssl. I don't think you mean that but best to ask... I don't think up need access to DIAGs (unless your device is fubarred in some way) to simply gain SSH access... DIAGS is generally for more "maintenance" level tasks. in essence you need to ensure that you either a) installed a hack that manages the installation/starting/settings for you or b) install/start the dropbear/authentication service yourself and manage the firewall rules. I just did exactly this in a VERY stubborn 5 B011. Hopefully you will have an easier ride ![]() but I did get it done. Last edited by twobob; 10-22-2012 at 10:55 AM. Reason: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Secure_Sockets_Layer |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#43 |
Connoisseur
![]() Posts: 89
Karma: 12
Join Date: May 2012
Device: Sony PRS-350, Kindle 4, PW2, Voyage, Oasis, Kobo Aura One
|
Hello. As I'm working on debricking my Kindle 4 (still no luck but working on it), I grabbed my roommate's newer k4 black with 4.1 to put the universal hack on it. I used the "universal method"..Placed the data.tar.gz, ENABLE_DIAGS and diagnostic_logs to the Kindle's USB drive's root...got into diagnostics mode and got to the "jailbreak, wait a moment while your kindle is being freed" screen and then restarted back into diagnostics mode, selected "D) Exit, Reboot or Disable Diags" again Select "D) Disable Diagnostics" and "Q) To continue"
At this point the ""You are Jailbroken" never came on and it just went straight back to my main screen with my collections. Do any of you have any suggestions what i did wrong and what i could do at this point to get it jailbroken? I don't want to proceed and screw anything more up like I did with my own K4. Thanks for any help. All is want is to ditch these ridiculous screensavers and put my own on. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#44 | |
hobbyist
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 37
Karma: 6494
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NY, USA
Device: Kindle 4 NT (Non-Touch)
|
Quote:
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() YOU ARE AWESOME!!! DIDN'T EVEN HAVE TO DO A FACTORY RESET!!! Last edited by waterlubber; 11-28-2012 at 04:25 PM. Reason: fixed thanks |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#45 | |
Member
![]() Posts: 14
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2011
Device: Kindle Paperwhite 2
|
Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Tags |
4.1.0, hack, jailbreak, k4nt, kindle 4 nt |
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Kindle 4 NT Hacking help | mog | Kindle Developer's Corner | 19 | 06-12-2012 07:32 AM |
hacking the Enhanced Kindle Editions | Nate the great | Kindle Developer's Corner | 6 | 08-29-2010 10:58 AM |
Hacks Some serious Kindle hacking | zetareticuli | Amazon Kindle | 0 | 07-28-2010 02:28 PM |
Kindle 1 Hacking question | lovebeta | Kindle Developer's Corner | 5 | 03-31-2009 10:39 AM |
Kindle Hacking! | flamaest | Amazon Kindle | 1 | 05-01-2008 03:40 AM |