Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Which one should I buy?

Notices

Old 08-02-2011, 02:39 PM   #1
janmill
janmill began at the beginning.

Device: none
Newbie who didn't know there were so many different ereaders & is now more confused

Hello everyone! This forum was recommended to me by a friend when they found out I was looking to buy an ereader.

Like the title says I'm a total newbie at this and when I started doing my research and finding out how many different ereaders are out there, it made me even more confused.

I've been reading through a lot of different posts here and have learned a great deal about ereaders but I was hoping to get a little more help from people who are more experienced!

Basically I love reading but it has gotten so bad that there is no more room on my bookshelves and now I just have stacks of books, taller than I am, all around my room.

I am a college student but I can't really see myself using an ereader for text books because they are so dang expensive (the textbooks) and I would need an easy way to highlight and take notes. Also, a lot of times you only have etext books for a certain amount of time (like a semester) and than they expire.

This might sound odd but I also love the ctrl +f (find) ability on computers so that if I'm trying to find something on a long page of text I can just type it in and it will either take me directly to where the text is, or it will tell me that that text can't be found. I don't know if any ereaders have this, or a similar function.

From what I was reading on here it seems that the Kindle doesn't support ebooks from the library. I really need an ebook that does (also thanks to someone who posted about the Philadelphia free library!).

I'm not looking to do a lot of internet browsing (that's what my laptop is for) but basic stuff (email, certain forums etc) would be great.