Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Which one should I buy?

Notices

Old 02-08-2011, 02:36 PM   #1
Vicarious
Vicarious began at the beginning.

Device: none
Question Pocketbook 902/3 the right choice?

Hi there,

As most others writing in this forum I am thoroughly at a loss as to which ereader I should get. After hours of trawling through dozens of posts here (very, very informative btw) I think I want either the Pocketbook 902 or 903 (still not clear exactly what more the 903 offers). However, they are very expensive, so before buying I'd like to make sure I'm right.

The reader I'm looking for would be solely for reading (no multimedia, no games, music, internet, etc). It needs to support everything I can throw at it very well (text/image pdf, txt, epub, mobi, basically as much as possible).
I'm a student so I would like to be able to make some kind of a mark on the document so I can refer longer note-taking in a book to that position in the text. Highlighting PDFs would be much appreciated if I can export the highlighted pdf to my laptop. Actual note taking is optional, but unless I can quickly and easily write longish (+-150 word) notes to all formats and export them to the laptop then forget it. However, if necessary I could well do without all annotation if it meant lower cost or better pdf-reading functionality (reflow, margins, columns, etc. Pdf handling is especially important).
I went for the 90x over the 60x because I rather suspect (without having ever compared the sizes in real life) that the bigger screen would make a better reading experience, especially for non-fiction university works. Should anyone think otherwise, I'm listening intently.