Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle > Kindle Developer's Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-12-2017, 06:58 AM   #1
Philip Man
Member
Philip Man began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 20
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2017
Device: Kindle Keyboard
Question no recovery menu

I have hooked up my K3 with rs232, and can see the boot information. When I see "enter to interrupt", I should see recovery menu, but it writes non readable characters to the screen.
I think my Kindle os is screwed.

Is there a way to flash the firmware via the serial port?
Philip Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 07-12-2017, 09:15 AM   #2
knc1
Snappy answers department
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,548
Karma: 16111111
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Texas
Device: No K1, PW2, KV, KOA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philip Man View Post
I have hooked up my K3 with rs232, and can see the boot information. When I see "enter to interrupt", I should see recovery menu, but it writes non readable characters to the screen.
I think my Kindle os is screwed.

Is there a way to flash the firmware via the serial port?
Not if the serial port is screwed up (the "writes non readable characters" part).

Have you tried Kubrick?
With what results?

Kubrick is the tool for replacing the firmware on the K3.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2017, 07:35 PM   #3
Philip Man
Member
Philip Man began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 20
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2017
Device: Kindle Keyboard
I have tried Kubrick, but cannot get into 'usb downloader mode'.
It gave me error contact Amazon support once, then since bricked.

It was flakey after 3.4.2 update, tried Kubrick, got error, now bricked.
Philip Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2017, 07:44 PM   #4
coplate
Addict
coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 322
Karma: 834102
Join Date: Jun 2009
Device: prs-505, Kindle Keyboard 3g, PW3
you do see the "enter to interrupt" prompt, but you cannot read the rest of it.

Would you be able to capture the raw output and upload it as a file here, I'm always curios to look at this kind of thing.
coplate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2017, 08:30 PM   #5
Philip Man
Member
Philip Man began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 20
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2017
Device: Kindle Keyboard
U-Boot 1.3.0-rc3-lab126 (Sep 15 2010 - 19:24:53)

CPU: Freescale i.MX35 at 532 MHz
Board: MX35 Luigi [ POR]
WDOG_WCR = 0xff31
WDOG_WMCR = 0x0
Board Id: SP1B000000000000
S/N: B008A0A00472195A
DRAM: 256 MB
Using default environment

In: serial
Out: serial
Err: serial
No ethernet found.
i.MX35 CPU board version 2.0
Net: No ethernet found.
Hit any key to stop autoboot: 0
## Booting image at 87f40400 ...
Image Name: Linux-2.6.26-rt-lab126
Image Type: ARM Linux Kernel Image (uncompressed)
Data Size: 2167548 Bytes = 2.1 MB
Load Address: 80008000
Entry Point: 80008000
Verifying Checksum ... OK
Loading Kernel Image ... OK

Starting kernel ...

Uncompressing Linux............................................. .................................................. ........................... done, booting the kernel.
boot: C def:bcut:batterycut=1,version=s172597:
2.6.26-rt-lab126 #5 Sat Sep 1 14:28:26 PDT 2012 armv6l
INFO:Using default keypad setting. (not passing "kb_rev" to module)
INFO:Loaded module /lib/modules/mxc_keyb.ko (22508 bytes)
Press [ENTER] for recovery menu... 0 /INFO:Partition table verified for /dev/mmcblk0
INFO:Checking for updates... (auto-pilot mode)
/dev/mmcblk0p4:
CHS=4/16/100167 size=3282272256 bytes
flag type first last lba first lba size
Partition p1:
0x00 0x0b 16 <large> 16 6410672
CHS: 0/1/1 - <large>
Partition p2:
Partition p3:
Partition p4:
INFO:Setup loop device /dev/loop0 for /dev/mmcblk0p4 + 8192
INFO:No update*.bin found; no update needed.
INFO:no updates found.
BOOTING DEFAULT.
argc == 9
argv[0]: "kinit"
argv[1]: "console=ttymxc0,115200"
argv[2]: "mem=256M"
argv[3]: "panic=10"
argv[4]: "root=/dev/mmcblk0p1"
argv[5]: "ro"
argv[6]: "ip=none"
argv[7]: "quiet"
argv[8]: "lpj=2555904"
Running ipconfig
argc == 4
argv[0]: "IP-Config"
argv[1]: "-i"
argv[2]: "Linux kinit"
argv[3]: "ip=none"
IP-Config: no devices to configure
kinit: do_mounts
kinit: name_to_dev_t(/dev/mmcblk0p1) = dev(179,1)
kinit: root_dev = dev(179,1)
kinit: /dev/root appears to be a ext3 filesystem
kinit: trying to mount /dev/root on /root with type ext3
kinit: Mounted root (ext3 filesystem) readonly.
Checking for init: /sbin/init
Checking for init: /bin/init
Checking for init: /etc/init
Checking for init: /sbin/init.sysvinit
INIT: version 2.86 booting
system: I rcS:def:starting /etc/rcS.d/S02kdb
system: I S02kdb:def:Setting boot device to mmcblk0
kdb set: 'system/driver/filesystem/DEV_ROOT'
system: I rcS:def:starting /etc/rcS.d/S03udev
system: I S03udev:def:setting up virtual fs for hotplug event handling
system: I S03udev:def:starting the hotplug events dispatcher
system: I S03udev:def:synthesizing initial hotplug events
lipc-send-event[380]: E lipc:con::Connection error(Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: No such file or directory)
lipc-send-event[380]: C def:dbusi::Failed to init dbus
lipc-send-event[380]: E defpen::Failed to open LIPC
lipc-send-event[380]: E def:fail:source=com.lab126.hal, event=usbPlugIn:Sending event failed
lipc-send-event[477]: E lipc:con::Connection error(Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: No such file or directory)
lipc-send-event[477]: C def:dbusi::Failed to init dbus
lipc-send-event[477]: E defpen::Failed to open LIPC
lipc-send-event[477]: E def:fail:source=com.lab126.hal, event=audioHS:Sending event failed
system: I rcS:def:starting /etc/rcS.d/S04rootfsresize
system: I S04rootfsresize:def:No rootfs on /dev/mmcblk0p1 resizing needed
system: I rcS:def:starting /etc/rcS.d/S10filesystems
system: I rcS:def:starting /etc/rcS.d/S10hostname
system: I rcS:def:starting /etc/rcS.d/S10network
system: I S10filesystems:def:mounting filesystems
system: I S10hostname:def:setting device hostname
system: I S10network:def:initializing network configuration
iptables-restore: line 1 failed
system: I S10network:def:Installed Firewall
system: I rcS:def:starting /etc/rcS.d/S11chpriority
system: I rcS:def:starting /etc/rcS.d/S11video
Unknown HZ value! (91) Assume 100.
system: W S11chpriority:def:Cannot set priority for IRQ-7
system: I S11video:def:initializing eInk HAL for system use
system: I S11video:def:eink_debug=0
system: I S11video:def:Controller set to broads
system: I rcS:def:starting /etc/rcS.d/S20syslog-ng
system: I S20syslog-ng:def:starting syslog-ng
system: I rcS:def:starting /etc/rcS.d/S21init_time
system: I S21init_time:initboot:time=16040:boot time after init in milliseconds
system: I rcS:def:starting /etc/rcS.d/S45modules
system: I S45modules:def:loading module mwan

Last edited by Philip Man; 07-12-2017 at 08:39 PM.
Philip Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 07-12-2017, 08:40 PM   #6
Philip Man
Member
Philip Man began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 20
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2017
Device: Kindle Keyboard
Tried both Enter keys on keyboard and numpad when it ask. Seems to continue with the boot, and not show Recovery Menu.

uboot is ok, I think it times out.
Philip Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2017, 08:58 PM   #7
knc1
Snappy answers department
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,548
Karma: 16111111
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Texas
Device: No K1, PW2, KV, KOA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philip Man View Post
Tried both Enter keys on keyboard and numpad when it ask. Seems to continue with the boot, and not show Recovery Menu.
You are asleep on the keyboard.
You (any human) is not fast enough to **wait** for the message.
The timer has already expired by the time you can see the message.

The trick to it is to start holding down the key **before** you see the message.
Don't release the key until after the message passes you by.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2017, 09:15 PM   #8
coplate
Addict
coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 322
Karma: 834102
Join Date: Jun 2009
Device: prs-505, Kindle Keyboard 3g, PW3
Also make sure your ground is connected properly, I was not able to write to my kindle without that, although I could get data.
coplate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2017, 09:59 PM   #9
Philip Man
Member
Philip Man began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 20
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2017
Device: Kindle Keyboard
Got the recovery menu. My level shifter was too low on the 1.8V side.
Philip Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 03:30 PM   #10
coplate
Addict
coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 322
Karma: 834102
Join Date: Jun 2009
Device: prs-505, Kindle Keyboard 3g, PW3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philip Man View Post
Got the recovery menu. My level shifter was too low on the 1.8V side.
What device are you using for this? A separate level shifter form your UART, or something with it built in?

The gold standard device recommended here "jim.sh micro.ftx" is out of stock on amazon, unless I want the 5-pack, so I was curious.
coplate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 03:39 PM   #11
knc1
Snappy answers department
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,548
Karma: 16111111
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Texas
Device: No K1, PW2, KV, KOA
Quote:
Originally Posted by coplate View Post
What device are you using for this? A separate level shifter form your UART, or something with it built in?

The gold standard device recommended here "jim.sh micro.ftx" is out of stock on amazon, unless I want the 5-pack, so I was curious.
Search among the posts made by geekmaster -
he is the one that posted how to build a level shifter to/from 1v8.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 02:58 AM   #12
Philip Man
Member
Philip Man began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 20
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2017
Device: Kindle Keyboard
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7011/6...e07dff44_z.jpg

Used this to shift from 1.8v to TTL.
Philip Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 09:12 AM   #13
knc1
Snappy answers department
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,548
Karma: 16111111
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Texas
Device: No K1, PW2, KV, KOA
Quote:
Originally Posted by knc1 View Post
Search among the posts made by geekmaster -
he is the one that posted how to build a level shifter to/from 1v8.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philip Man View Post
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7011/6...e07dff44_z.jpg

Used this to shift from 1.8v to TTL.
That is an extract from the posts geekmaster made here.
There is reading that goes along with the picture.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bricked, keyboard

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help: I select Erase MMC0 in my kindle gen 8 recovery menu.. cxg2014 Kindle Developer's Corner 44 06-27-2017 08:09 PM
Hyperlinks :Section Menu and Main menu not clickable/working in recipe generated mitra Recipes 0 01-22-2016 04:37 AM
K3 Frozen screen - Recovery menu nicole ridgway Kindle Developer's Corner 27 03-09-2015 05:04 AM
Kindle 3 Recovery Menu scenox Kindle Developer's Corner 6 03-11-2011 12:23 AM
Update from recovery menu simekadam Kindle Developer's Corner 1 02-13-2011 11:40 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:05 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.