Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-09-2017, 02:26 AM   #31
Audra
Member
Audra began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 21
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Southern California, United States
Device: Color Nook
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryT View Post
Qt is the device-independent graphical "framework" that Calibre uses to draw things.
Thank you.
Audra is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 09-09-2017, 02:28 AM   #32
Audra
Member
Audra began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 21
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Southern California, United States
Device: Color Nook
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
When you exit Calibre NORMALLY (ctrl-Q, AKA Quit), rather than Killing,crashing or just shutting down the computer with programs open.
Calibre saves the last location of many screens (OK/Cancel types tend to just show on the Main monitor).

Failure to save (and have it stick), may indicate something is getting the way or fighting it. A sync program that keeps putting back the 'old' version. A/V or bad User permissions, blocking changes to the configuration folder.
Hints on where to explore, may be indicated by what OTHER PROGRAMS happen to also misbehave

Temporaily have Windows (Display settings) use the other monitor as Main (and the old main, 'extend the desktop". You may need to drag the positions around: 2:1 instead of 1:2 )

I have always exited Calibre normally. Cannot figure out any possibilities from your suggestions. Thank you for trying to help.
Audra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2017, 04:25 AM   #33
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 31,718
Karma: 8695932
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audra View Post
It is not doing that. If it did that would be fine. The window does not show up on the second monitor or the first monitor either. It seems to be using a nonexistent monitor to show the window.
Yes obviously. The question is why does your system think a non-existent monitor exists. The most obvious answer is a monitor was connected to some port such as an alternate video port/tv out etc in the past and is no longer connected now. If that is the case, the question becomes, how to get your system to "forget" that monitor.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2017, 04:30 AM   #34
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 9,175
Karma: 7656413
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
@Audra - some long shot ideas - take a system restore point first, search for "create a restore point windows 10", the windows central tutorial is quite good.

Do a test after each 'idea', they are not dependent in any way.
  • Do a lightweight registry clean, I favour Piriform's CCleaner.
  • Run a System File Check, see >> MS - Using System File Checker in Windows 10 - this takes while.
  • With calibre not running, rename its configuration directory to something like calibre_save, and then run calibre - it will build a fresh default configuration directory, and run the Welcome Wizard - what happens if you try to view the Getting Started epub?

To find your configuration folder click the Preferences->Miscellaneous->Open calibre configuration directory button, that will open the directory in File Manager ( it will probably be something like C:\Users\Audra\AppData\Roaming\calibre), close calibre, go up a level and do the rename.

BR

Last edited by BetterRed; 09-09-2017 at 04:33 AM.
BetterRed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2017, 05:34 AM   #35
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 9,175
Karma: 7656413
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
@Audra - this nirsoft tool might provide some clues as to what's going on, and maybe a means to fix it ==>> Enable/disable/configure multiple monitors on Windows

BR
BetterRed is online now   Reply With Quote
Advert
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Paperwhite: view books I want skb Amazon Kindle 12 01-07-2017 07:39 PM
View books not in collection Cath Amazon Kindle 6 12-12-2014 01:51 PM
replace in book view changes view to code view cybmole Sigil 4 10-28-2012 02:20 PM
5 vs 3 Books in Mosaic View kysenramses Kobo Tablets 3 06-08-2012 09:36 AM
How do I view all books after search? Spur52 Library Management 1 09-26-2011 07:58 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:42 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.