Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-03-2017, 12:58 PM   #1
anleva
Enthusiast
anleva began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 38
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2011
Device: Kindle Paperwhite
Can't see Calibre window in Linux GUI

I am unable to see the Calibre window in my GUI. It is running as I can see the Calibre icon in the system tray. When I click on "show/hide main window" I still don't see Calibre on screen but the choice changes in the system tray icon menu.

This is for all of the 3.x releases of Calibre 64 bit Linux. When I revert back to 2.x releases I can see the window/app again.

I am running Ubuntu 16.04.3 LTS
anleva is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 09-03-2017, 02:20 PM   #2
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 21,006
Karma: 20776282
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: K4NT, Galaxy Tab 2(RIP)
Multiple screens at some point in time? It may be now be off-screen.
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2017, 10:04 PM   #3
anleva
Enthusiast
anleva began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 38
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2011
Device: Kindle Paperwhite
No multiple screens. It works, appears, when I downgrade to 2.x
anleva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 10:41 PM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 31,718
Karma: 8695932
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Tun calibre ina terminal as

calibre-debug -g

and you will likely get some useful debug output that might tell us what the problem is.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 01:51 PM   #5
anleva
Enthusiast
anleva began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 38
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2011
Device: Kindle Paperwhite
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Tun calibre ina terminal as

calibre-debug -g

and you will likely get some useful debug output that might tell us what the problem is.
Is there a debug log somewhere after running this command? it is still a problem with the 3.x releases.

This was the output of running that command:

calibre-debug -g
calibre 3.8 embedded-python: True is64bit: True
Linux-4.4.0-96-generic-x86_64-with-debian-stretch-sid Linux ('64bit', 'ELF')
('Linux', '4.4.0-96-generic', '#119-Ubuntu SMP Tue Sep 12 14:59:54 UTC 2017')
Python 2.7.12
Linux: ('debian', 'stretch/sid', '')
Interface language: None
Turning on automatic hidpi scaling
GLib-GIO-Message: Using the 'memory' GSettings backend. Your settings will not be saved or shared with other applications.
devicePixelRatio: 1.0
logicalDpi: inf x inf
physicalDpi: -49497354.5002 x -87977555.9019
Using calibre Qt style: True

Last edited by anleva; 09-24-2017 at 02:37 PM.
anleva is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 09-24-2017, 11:43 PM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 31,718
Karma: 8695932
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
That is the debug log and the problem is that Qt is unable to detect your monitors geometry correctly,s ee the lines

logicalDpi: inf x inf
physicalDpi: -49497354.5002 x -87977555.9019

This happens on some X servers, with newer versions of Qt, but no one has been able to track down why.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 10:21 AM   #7
anleva
Enthusiast
anleva began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 38
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2011
Device: Kindle Paperwhite
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
That is the debug log and the problem is that Qt is unable to detect your monitors geometry correctly,s ee the lines

logicalDpi: inf x inf
physicalDpi: -49497354.5002 x -87977555.9019

This happens on some X servers, with newer versions of Qt, but no one has been able to track down why.
Thanks. Any thoughts on why does it work for 2.xx releases and earlier and not 3.xx? It looks like a different version of python, 2.7.12 vs 2.7.9. Could that be it?

When I revert to 2.85.1 this is the output of the debug command:


calibre 2.85.1 embedded-python: True is64bit: True
Linux-4.4.0-96-generic-x86_64-with-debian-stretch-sid Linux ('64bit', 'ELF')
('Linux', '4.4.0-96-generic', '#119-Ubuntu SMP Tue Sep 12 14:59:54 UTC 2017')
Python 2.7.9
Linux: ('debian', 'stretch/sid', '')
devicePixelRatio: 1.0
logicalDpi: 96.0 x 96.0
physicalDpi: 44.2540834846 x 44.2451612903

Last edited by anleva; 09-25-2017 at 10:35 AM.
anleva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 11:55 AM   #8
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 31,718
Karma: 8695932
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Not a different version of python, a different version of Qt.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre GUI Not Starting (Linux) diomekes Calibre 6 10-25-2016 06:54 PM
Destroying a GUI plugin window Jellby Development 0 12-29-2013 04:56 AM
Ubuntu/Linux : Command to schedule a job with Calibre.( No GUI ) DurgaPrasad Calibre 0 10-16-2013 07:50 AM
Calibre GUI linux question ziprar Calibre 0 03-19-2012 06:40 AM
Opening a new window in calibre, and closing another window Dr. Drib Calibre 3 02-23-2012 10:27 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:33 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.