Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-19-2017, 02:37 AM   #1
The Texas Dude
Junior Member
The Texas Dude began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2016
Device: Ipad
Returning to Full Library from Virtual Library

Learning about Virtual Libraries: Created VL and now can't return to all books. Reselecting Virtual Library button shows same subset of books. Showing "VL as Tabs" gives "All Books" name without showing all books.

Help please.
The Texas Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2017, 07:01 AM   #2
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 17,005
Karma: 19750200
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Texas Dude View Post
Learning about Virtual Libraries: Created VL and now can't return to all books. Reselecting Virtual Library button shows same subset of books. Showing "VL as Tabs" gives "All Books" name without showing all books.

Help please.
Press Alt+R and select None from the VL button drop down, viz

Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	20.7 KB
ID:	155103

Also tap the Escape key to clear any active Search.

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 02-19-2017, 09:15 AM   #3
The Texas Dude
Junior Member
The Texas Dude began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2016
Device: Ipad
Thanks BetterRed, but those didn't work either!
The Texas Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2017, 12:34 PM   #4
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,061
Karma: 39102633
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: K4NT(Fixed,New Bat.), Galaxy Tab A, Kobo Aura2
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Texas Dude View Post
Thanks BetterRed, but those didn't work either!
are you seeing the Red Minus button in BR's image? That means a VL is being shown


Also the Status bar at the bottom of Calibre will only have 2 Values (books, selected), not 3 (books, selected, total)

If you only see 2 values, you did something to make them go bye-bye
Get your backup out and use the find duplicates PI to locate the ones in the backup that ARE NOT in the main
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2017, 01:50 PM   #5
The Texas Dude
Junior Member
The Texas Dude began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2016
Device: Ipad
Theducke - thanks for your analysis.

1. Any advantage to reinstall Calibre to see if some flag gets reset?
2. There is no red minus on the VL drop down menu.
3. There are only two values on the Status Bar: books and selected.
4. Calibre Library seems full size on disk - they're apparently still around. (5226 folders, 92.5gb, 17k books)
5. My backups are directory-level copies of the Calibre application which can replace the data (etc.), but not reset the calibre pgm. (VL shows only 389 books - would be easier to replace everything.)
The Texas Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 02-19-2017, 02:35 PM   #6
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,061
Karma: 39102633
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: K4NT(Fixed,New Bat.), Galaxy Tab A, Kobo Aura2
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Texas Dude View Post
Theducke - thanks for your analysis.

1. Any advantage to reinstall Calibre to see if some flag gets reset?
2. There is no red minus on the VL drop down menu.
3. There are only two values on the Status Bar: books and selected.
4. Calibre Library seems full size on disk - they're apparently still around. (5226 folders, 92.5gb, 17k books)
5. My backups are directory-level copies of the Calibre application which can replace the data (etc.), but not reset the calibre pgm. (VL shows only 389 books - would be easier to replace everything.)
The red minus is next to the VL button... BUT
only 2 values (### books, 1 Selected) says you are NOT looking at a VL

BACKUP before doing this, just in case
Try (on Library Icon) Library Maintenance :restore Database (will take a bit of time)
The VL Structures are part of the DB (each Library can have a different set of VL) The metadata_db_prefs_backup file in the library folder allows RESTORATION of DB structure. medatadata.opf in each TITLE folder populates the DB (along with the cover.jpeg)
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2017, 04:47 PM   #7
The Texas Dude
Junior Member
The Texas Dude began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2016
Device: Ipad
Oh my, oh my! While backing up I pressed Calibre Library icon and all books came out of hiding!! Seem to be all here.

Wha'd I do wrong, Doctor? Wha'd I do right (besides following your instructions)?

Thanks very much theducks. Very much!

(ps In former life, I used to live and love in MtnView.)
The Texas Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2017, 04:53 PM   #8
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 17,005
Karma: 19750200
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
The red minus is only shown when there is an active VL. In my screen shot my 'Current' VL was active at the time. When I select 'None' it goes away. When there is an active VL it's name is shown in the Title bar after the current Library name, when there's no active VL nothing is displayed, viz:

Click image for larger version

Name:	4.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	40.5 KB
ID:	155127

There's a tweak for VL's, Highlight the virtual library name when using a Virtual Library. Here's what I have in that tweak:

Click image for larger version

Name:	3.JPG
Views:	68
Size:	93.7 KB
ID:	155130

I set it to 'transparent' because the active VL name is displayed in the Title Bar, IMO having it in the search bar adds unnecessary redundant clutter. When you use VL Tabs the name is not displayed in the search bar, which makes the setting of this tweak irrelevant.

There's probably no point in reinstalling calibre, because the data that controls VL's (and most everything else) is stored in the global preferences directory or in the library preferences. The former is accessible by clicking the Preferences->Miscellaneous->Open configuration directory button, the only VL related setting I would expect to find in there is the aforementioned tweak, everything else is in the Library metadata database Preferences table, for example Preferences->Behaviour->Virtual library to apply when the current library is opened:

Quote:
Use this virtual library on calibre startup if the current library is being used. Also applied when switching to this library. Note that this setting is per library.
@The Texas Dude - could you try setting Preferences->Behaviour->Virtual library to apply when the current library is opened: to 'blank', then restart calibre. You should see all your books in the All books VL Tab.

Maybe you could post some relevant screen shots.

Added : we x-posted, seems the problem went away of its own accord. Software that can think for itself -- now that is a scary thought

BR

Last edited by BetterRed; 02-19-2017 at 05:32 PM.
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2017, 05:46 PM   #9
The Texas Dude
Junior Member
The Texas Dude began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2016
Device: Ipad
Or very sensitive software giving me the answer to make me want to live another day...
Thanks, BR.
The Texas Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2017, 06:40 PM   #10
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,061
Karma: 39102633
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: K4NT(Fixed,New Bat.), Galaxy Tab A, Kobo Aura2
was your device connected? You may have been looking at device view
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2017, 09:14 PM   #11
The Texas Dude
Junior Member
The Texas Dude began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2016
Device: Ipad
Not certain on device status, but these 389 were not loaded thereon.
The Texas Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2017, 09:32 PM   #12
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 17,005
Karma: 19750200
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
was your device connected? You may have been looking at device view
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Texas Dude View Post
Not certain on device status, but these 389 were not loaded thereon.
London to Brick On that's what it was. My excuse is that I don't connect any devices to calibre

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual Library still show up in main library bskies Library Management 3 11-13-2013 11:41 PM
Returning book from free lending library KlondikeGeoff Kindle Fire 4 09-09-2013 07:59 PM
Library borrowing/returning PatGIV General Discussions 14 05-24-2012 07:56 PM
Returning library ebooks early?? foureyes Sony Reader 9 09-27-2011 09:02 PM
Returning Borrowed Library Books NiaTrue enTourage Archive 42 02-23-2011 03:07 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:30 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.