Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-19-2021, 06:50 PM   #1
toomuchreading
Groupie
toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.
 
toomuchreading's Avatar
 
Posts: 152
Karma: 1720
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Device: PRS-T1
When Running Can't tell Calibre from Calibre Portable

I'm hoping someone can help me.
I recently started using Calibre Portable,but I still have Calibre64 version on my computer and both are up to date versions.

Is there a way to tell which version of Calibre I've got up and running. I point to the same library when running Portable, and have the settings the same for both versions, so I can't tell which version of Calibre I'm running. I've got a bad memory, so I forget which version I started up. Is there a way to tell which Calibre I've got running?
toomuchreading is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2021, 07:32 PM   #2
capink
Evangelist
capink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipedia
 
Posts: 482
Karma: 47410
Join Date: Aug 2015
Device: Kindle
I don't know if there is way to differentiate between them. Until someone comes with a better answer you can do the following:

Since Calibre shows the version in the status bar at the left bottom corner; you can run different versions, say odd version numbers for portable and even version numbers are for regular install.
capink is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2021, 07:37 PM   #3
JSWolf
Resident Curmudgeon
JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
JSWolf's Avatar
 
Posts: 62,741
Karma: 102416178
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roslindale, Massachusetts
Device: Kobo Aura H2O, PRS-650, PRS-T1, nook STR, iPad 4, iPhone SE 2020, PW3
Quote:
Originally Posted by toomuchreading View Post
I'm hoping someone can help me.
I recently started using Calibre Portable,but I still have Calibre64 version on my computer and both are up to date versions.

Is there a way to tell which version of Calibre I've got up and running. I point to the same library when running Portable, and have the settings the same for both versions, so I can't tell which version of Calibre I'm running. I've got a bad memory, so I forget which version I started up. Is there a way to tell which Calibre I've got running?
Easy really. Just make sure you have different versions and you;ll be able to tell by what version you are running.
JSWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2021, 07:38 PM   #4
ownedbycats
Wizard
ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
ownedbycats's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,540
Karma: 10851074
Join Date: Oct 2018
Device: Kobo Aura HD
My suggestion, if you don't want to run a different version, is to add an extra toolbar icon to Portable that you wouldn't use on your standard one.
ownedbycats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2021, 07:59 PM   #5
davidfor
Grand Sorcerer
davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 21,593
Karma: 37261930
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Device: Kobo:Touch,Glo, AuraH2O, GloHD,AuraONE, ClaraHD, Libra H2O; tolinoepos
At the worst, you can use the Task Manager to see the path of the command that started calibre. But, as I do run various versions for testing plugins, if I forget which I am using, or whether I restarted it to pick up a code change, I just close it and open it again. It doesn't take long enough to be a real nuisance.
davidfor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2021, 08:53 PM   #6
toomuchreading
Groupie
toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.
 
toomuchreading's Avatar
 
Posts: 152
Karma: 1720
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Device: PRS-T1
Enhancement Request

Thanks for the responses everyone. It doesn't look like this is straight forward without a workaround.

Could I suggest then maybe a future enhancement, where the version number is displayed in the bottom left hand corner, instead of "Calibre 5.16", might the display change to read something like "Calibre64 5.16", "Calibre32 5.16" "Calibre Portable 5.16", or whichever version for Mac, and Unix too, so in essence you have which Calibre is running and which version is running. It's the perfect spot for this information. This would also help for those requesting support to be able to tell which Calibre they are running at a glance instead of having to guess.
toomuchreading is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2021, 09:08 PM   #7
ownedbycats
Wizard
ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
ownedbycats's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,540
Karma: 10851074
Join Date: Oct 2018
Device: Kobo Aura HD
There's a bit of precedent for this, as running from source has it listed in the status as Calibre 5.xx* and 64-bit status is already listed. I'd suggest file a ticket here.

Last edited by ownedbycats; 04-19-2021 at 09:10 PM.
ownedbycats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2021, 11:00 PM   #8
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 39,098
Karma: 17012286
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
It shouldnt matter the only significant functional difference between calibre portable and normal calibre is that portable doesnt remember libraries located outside the portable folder.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2021, 01:50 AM   #9
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 17,171
Karma: 19750289
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
Just change the appearance.

My Portable Version Look and Feel is the factory settings

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2021-04-20 154102.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	391.1 KB
ID:	186700

My 64 bit Installed Look and Feel has lots of adjustments

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2021-04-20 154249.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	382.8 KB
ID:	186701

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2021, 01:54 AM   #10
ownedbycats
Wizard
ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
ownedbycats's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,540
Karma: 10851074
Join Date: Oct 2018
Device: Kobo Aura HD
Quote:
Originally Posted by BetterRed View Post
Just change the appearance.
Yes, that's why I suggested adding an extra toolbar button.
ownedbycats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2021, 08:13 PM   #11
toomuchreading
Groupie
toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.
 
toomuchreading's Avatar
 
Posts: 152
Karma: 1720
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Device: PRS-T1
Thank you Kovid!
Quote:
Fixed in branch master. The fix will be in the next release. calibre is
usually released every alternate Friday.

status fixreleased
Thank you again! You have no idea how wonderful a product you have. Other than my browser, this is THE MOST used software on my computer. I read a lot, and this just makes my life much easier.
toomuchreading is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2021, 02:49 PM   #12
toomuchreading
Groupie
toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.
 
toomuchreading's Avatar
 
Posts: 152
Karma: 1720
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Device: PRS-T1
Kovid, will this show up in 5.17 or should it have been in 5.16.1? I did upgrade my portable version from the calibre download website with the last update & it's still saying 'calibre 5.16.1 created by Kovid Goyal' without any indication that itis the portable version in either the version line, or the program title bar.
toomuchreading is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2021, 07:33 PM   #13
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 17,171
Karma: 19750289
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
It'll be in 5.17 ==>> https://github.com/kovidgoyal/calibr...&branch=master

Hmmm, he's been a busy boy.

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2021, 01:31 PM   #14
toomuchreading
Groupie
toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.toomuchreading once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.
 
toomuchreading's Avatar
 
Posts: 152
Karma: 1720
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Device: PRS-T1
Quote:
Originally Posted by BetterRed View Post
It'll be in 5.17 ==>> https://github.com/kovidgoyal/calibr...&branch=master

Hmmm, he's been a busy boy.

BR

Thank you for that info. That's a lot of work...


Thank you all for the amount of work that you do to keep Calibre the best piece of software that I have ever used.
toomuchreading is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre Portable - Shouldn't PORTABLE Viewer and PORTABLE Editor open WITH the ebook? Highlighter Calibre 2 10-31-2020 05:48 AM
Faire une copie intégrale de Calibre sur Calibre portable lktr45 Software 0 05-27-2020 10:38 AM
CC not connecting to comp running Calibre Portable (usb drive) penumbria Calibre Companion 4 01-06-2018 08:19 PM
Calibre Portable and Assigned Letter to Portable Drive issue nkle1128 Library Management 1 03-11-2017 04:11 PM
How do I import Calibre settings from regular Win Calibre to Calibre Portable? ABW Calibre 9 05-20-2013 02:34 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:47 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.