Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Development

Notices

Old 05-13-2011, 02:33 PM   #1
luketheobscure
luketheobscure doesn't litterluketheobscure doesn't litter

Device: kindle
GUI Changes

Hello all,

I'm a web developer and UX designer, and a huge fan of Calibre. I'd like to work on the GUI for the OS X version of Calibre. For some reason it always seems like it fits right in on my Windows 7 machines, but Mac apps follow different conventions.

My question is- where do I start? I don't know python, but I know quite a few other languages that I can kind of figure out what I'm looking at. Is there a master GUI template somewhere that I can jump into?

Even if none of my changes are merged into the main branch, it seems like this would be a fun project.

Thanks,

total n00b
luketheobscure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 02:40 PM   #2
user_none
Sigil & calibre developer
user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: Nook STR
Some of the GUI is composed of Qt .ui files. Some of the is programatically created in the code. A good amount uses a mix of both.

calibre.gui2 has all of the GUI files. Everything related to the GUI actually.

What specifically are you looking to change? It's easier to help you get started if I know what you actually want to do. There are a lot of components of the GUI.