![]() |
#166 | ||
Zealot
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 148
Karma: 474196
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ottawa
Device: Kobo Aura H2O
|
Quote:
Are spaces even allowed in a css class name? Would it not be as easy as just trimming leading and trailing spaces when checking used classes (ditto for the Mend & Prettify function)? Quote:
Glad I could help! Thanks for everything! |
||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#167 |
Sigil Developer
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 7,322
Karma: 4622344
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
Okay, I just added code to harden the "delete unused styles" by removing trailing whitespace from class names. And pushed it to master.
It appears to now do the "right" thing. As for mend or prettify handling that, it is hard because whitespace is generally allowed in attribute values, just not in class attribute values when only one class is present. Last edited by KevinH; 09-06-2023 at 06:18 PM. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#168 | |
Evangelist
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 416
Karma: 77256
Join Date: Sep 2011
Device: none
|
Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#169 | |
Sigil Developer
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 7,322
Karma: 4622344
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
@DNSB,
Were you ever able to catch a crash and get a backtrace from it? Or figure out a sequence of events that can make the crash reproducible? Thanks, Kevin Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#170 |
Bibliophagist
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 31,139
Karma: 136000011
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vancouver
Device: Kobo Sage, Forma, Clara HD, Lenovo M8 FHD, Paperwhite 4, Tolino epos
|
So far I've been starting Sigil from WinDbg and it's behaved itself. I even went back to the original copies of the last couple of books I was editing when the crash occurred and re-edited them. Still no crashes. Very annoying. I hate intermittent issues.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#171 |
Sigil Developer
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 7,322
Karma: 4622344
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
If it operates successfully under WindDBG (or under any debugger) and not when used without that debugger, the underlying problem is typically related to a "race" between two events being processed by the code at the same time. One typically finishes before the other and therefore no bug generated. But sometimes the other one wins the race and causes a crash.
The debugger probably slows down the "bad" event of the two racing enough so that race no longer exists and so the bug is never recorded. Of course that doesn't really help us much as we still have no idea what event is racing against what. Please let us know if you ever get anything as I hate crashes and really want to remove all of them from Sigil as soon as they can be tracked down. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#172 |
Bibliophagist
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 31,139
Karma: 136000011
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vancouver
Device: Kobo Sage, Forma, Clara HD, Lenovo M8 FHD, Paperwhite 4, Tolino epos
|
I will do so.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#173 |
Grand Sorcerer
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 27,203
Karma: 191422320
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
|
You also might want to consider updating your VC++ 2015-2022 redistributable. Anything after VS2015 is supposed to be compatible, but perhaps something in an older one can trigger issues.
Sigil only attempts to install the redistributable if it's missing, or really, really old. Otherwise we leave that up to the user. Permalinks for the latest: https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/cp...-2019-and-2022 Last edited by DiapDealer; 09-09-2023 at 01:48 PM. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#174 | |
Bibliophagist
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 31,139
Karma: 136000011
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vancouver
Device: Kobo Sage, Forma, Clara HD, Lenovo M8 FHD, Paperwhite 4, Tolino epos
|
Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#175 |
Grand Sorcerer
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 27,203
Karma: 191422320
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
|
Yours was still pretty new. I doubt it was the issue, but the upgrade can't hurt either.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#176 |
Wizard
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 1,481
Karma: 6095013
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Rosario - Santa Fe - Argentina
Device: Kindle 4 NT
|
Sigil now compiled with Qt 6.5.2 from the Arch repo! Better late than never
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#177 | |
Grand Sorcerer
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 27,203
Karma: 191422320
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
|
Quote:
Actually, with Linux using the system python rather than a bundled python, you might be able to get away with using PyQt5 for plugins. But plugin devs have been notified about the change to PySide6 being the default moving forward with Sigil 2.0. Almost all (known) gui plugins that use Qt for Python have been modified to work with PyQ5 or PySide6, but there's always the possibility that some plugin devs could make Sigil 2.0 and PySide6 the minimums for new plugins. Last edited by DiapDealer; 09-21-2023 at 07:20 AM. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#178 | |
Connoisseur
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 95
Karma: 532
Join Date: Jan 2012
Device: Pocketbook Touch HD
|
Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#179 |
Grand Sorcerer
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 27,203
Karma: 191422320
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#180 |
Zealot
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 148
Karma: 474196
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ottawa
Device: Kobo Aura H2O
|
Found a new bug for you, which is pretty minor but hopefully also a quick fix.
Basically, if you go to the Metadata Editor and remove all Properties and hit OK you'll get a hard crash. It doesn't seem to be an issue with removing any specific Property; it's only if you try and commit with no Properties. This is pretty easily reproduceable and happens every time you follow the steps provided. At the moment, I'm using the "2.0.1" test build KevinH provided to address the dual monitor issues I had been having with 2.0.0. I would imagine the fix would involve a null check and/or ensuring there's some basic info in the metadata (i.e. last modified date), or at the very least the OK button should be disabled (or trigger an error) if the metadata is empty. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Sigil-1.9.20 Released | DiapDealer | Sigil | 12 | 01-28-2023 10:41 AM |
Sigil-0.9.12 Released | DiapDealer | Sigil | 194 | 03-15-2019 04:51 PM |
Sigil-0.9.11 Released | DiapDealer | Sigil | 37 | 02-18-2019 07:56 PM |
Sigil-0.8.900 released for testing - Wait for Sigil-0.8.901 | KevinH | Sigil | 106 | 10-04-2015 11:41 AM |
Sigil 0.6.0 Released | user_none | Sigil | 93 | 11-24-2012 07:50 PM |