Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Old 01-14-2019, 07:07 PM   #1
Havelock
Havelock began at the beginning.

Device: none
Cover shrinks when converting ePUB to MOBI in Cailbre only when sent to iPAD

It's my first time on the forum - I've read many helpful posts over the last few weeks so thanks to everyone who has contributed.

I've now struck a problem creating an eBook that I can't seem to solve and am hoping someone might be able to help.

I'm creating an eBook in Calibre for publication and need to produce a MOBI I can upload to KDP.

I can't upload the ePUB directly and let KDP convert it as it has a lot of special characters (lots of Spanish words with accents) and the formatting doesn't work if I do it this way.

So I've done the following:
- Set a font family (this helped with the special characters)
- Convert to "both" MOBI formats (when I just convert to "old" there are formatting issues)
- set personal tag doc [EBOK] so I can send to my Kindle for iPad
- input profile and output profile set to default

This results in a MOBI that looks perfect on an actual Kindle device, and viewed through KDP preview. The cover is normal-sized and fills the screen. However when sent to Kindle for iPAD, the cover looks quite small and doesn't fill the whole page. The link to the cover in the table of contents (in-line) also appears to be broken - but only when viewed on the iPad. The link works when the same MOBI is viewed on a Kindle device.

I've tried setting the cover to height=100%, or alternatively specifying size (width/heigh). Margins are 0
I've tested having the output as "Tablet" instead of "Default" or "Generic e-ink" both with cover size specified or alternatively set to height=100%
I've experimented with a larger file size for the cover - made no difference.

Any other suggestions as to what I can try?
Havelock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 10:38 PM   #2