Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book General > General Discussions

Notices

Old 08-06-2011, 01:17 PM   #1
phyllisj9
phyllisj9 began at the beginning.

Device: none
Digital magazine on company website

My company is interested in distributing our magazine for e-book readers. I've got some basic knowledge about creating epubs and mobi files. I'm curious: Is it unusual to offer a magazine directly on a company website in these formats? We don't sell our magazine (it's free for our members), so I don't see much point in trying to go through Amazon or B&N or some other reseller. But I don't know how common it is to just have epub and mobi files available to download on a website. Do you see that often?

Also, is it usual to create e-magazines the same way you would create e-books? I ask because I notice Kindle magazines look like they have a different layout than books. Even the device Menu options become different when you open a magazine ("Go to" no longer appears in the Kindle menu). So perhaps that's a completely different process. I guess I could create it however I wanted, but I wonder if there is some common way of going about this (?).

Suggestions appreciated!

Thanks, Phyllis
phyllisj9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 01:35 PM   #2
Giggleton
Banned