Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Barnes & Noble NOOK > Nook Developer's Corner

Notices

Old 03-22-2011, 05:15 PM   #1
sangahm
Enthusiast
sangahm began at the beginning.

Device: nook HD, Palm T3, iPhone
Color: Original ereader books (from ereader.com)

Having dozens of books purchased for my palm from ereader.com, I was hoping to have a compatible reader for my NC. The classic reads these files natively, but it looks like I'm out of luck with the NC.

I have a rooted nook and tried to install the old android app from the ereader.com website, but it doesn't look like it loaded (I'm a newbie so not sure if there is an extra step I need to do to load non-Market apps).

I don't want to have to take the time to remove the DRM from each and every book (yes I do know how to do that) and convert. I'd like to explore if there are other options first.

Any ideas to read these pdb files natively?
sangahm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 06:09 PM   #2
jhitesma
jhitesma began at the beginning.

Device: Nook Classic & Nook Color
If you haven't installed a custom launcher yet on the rooted NC you may have to fully reboot the NC before apps you installed from the market show up under "Extras".

Don't just put it to sleep, hold the power button down until it prompts for confirmation that you really want to power down completely.
jhitesma is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 03-22-2011, 07:58 PM   #3
sangahm
Enthusiast

Thanks, but I don't think thats the issue. I've downloaded a few apps from the Market and they appear fine. It's just the old ereader app (not available in the Market, at least that I could find).

So I clicked on the "download the ereader for Android app" link (eReader_android_1.0.39.apk) but that's as far as I get. It doesn't appear in my Extras.

So do I need something else to actually install that file?
Old 03-23-2011, 11:33 AM   #4
=X=
Wizard