Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle

Notices

Old 07-27-2010, 10:27 PM   #1
owenfinn
owenfinn began at the beginning.

Device: Sony PRS-700, Kindle 3
Intl restrictions question

I am a resident of Japan visiting my parents in North Carolina. My Dad, has offered to give me his Kindle DX since he rarely uses it.

What I would like to know is - will I be able to use whispernet and order books in Japan without imposing any extra fees? Would it make sense to keep the account in my Dad's name and just send him money for books I order?

Thanks!
owenfinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 11:32 PM   #2
nwinter
Zealot
nwinter has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.nwinter has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.nwinter has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.nwinter has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.nwinter has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.

Device: sony PS-505, Iphone and about to add a Kindle DX
By far the best option is to keep the kindle in his name with the US address. I dont think you can use the whispernet out of he country if its not an international one. Its really easy to get books onto the kindle without having them downloaded. Just do it via the USB then you have no fees to pay and take about a minute ( if that). If you registered it in your name out of the US then you start to run into all sorts of restrictions.

Hope that helps.

Natalie
nwinter is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 07-27-2010, 11:40 PM   #3
AnemicOak
Bookaholic