Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Sony Reader

Notices

Old 07-05-2010, 11:13 AM   #1
johnmont
johnmont
johnmont began at the beginning.

Device: Pocket PC & Sony PRS505
Smile Adobe ADE or Sony Reader?

Hi, I am new to e readers and will soon become the owner of my firsr, a Sony PRS-505.
I have loaded ADE and Sony Reader onto my Windows 7 PC, in expectation of it's arrival.
Which is the better bet for controlling the content on my 505?
Your advice will be most wellcome.
Regards
johnmont
johnmont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 12:20 PM   #2
MSJim
Bookworm
MSJim began at the beginning.

Device: PRS-600, Nook STR
IHO a better program to control your content is Calibre. It does everything the Sony software does and more, such as converting the format of eBooks, and downloading news content.

ADE is not so good at controlling content, but you will still need it. ADE is necessary for DRM's eBooks - Sony's Software is not. Although Sony Library has its supporters, I think it's really only good for shopping at the Sony store.
MSJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 07-05-2010, 08:52 PM   #3
Clancy_s
Zealot
Clancy_s ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Clancy_s ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Clancy_s ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Clancy_s ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Clancy_s ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Clancy_s ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Clancy_s ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Clancy_s ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Clancy_s ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Clancy_s ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Clancy_s ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: Kobo Glo HD
Consider this another vote for Calibre for your primary manager, with ADE secondary for when you want drm stuff.