Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Related Tools

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-09-2018, 10:24 AM   #1
altunian
Junior Member
altunian began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2018
Device: Synology+Androi
Calibre on Synology

I followed the steps for COPS (Calibre) on Synilogy. As it is advised, I placed the books on the NAS drive, created a Calibre lybrary on a PC (Mac in my case) by mounting the NAS drive (as SMB) and adding the books. After some tries and steps from the forum, I got it working. But... When I open a book in the Lybrary and try to view/download it, it tries to find a file located in var/cops/download/... and the books are under var/books/.
What has to be changed in the settings? Or does the database have to created in another way?
altunian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 04:50 PM   #2
Philippe D.
Addict
Philippe D. ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Philippe D. ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Philippe D. ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Philippe D. ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Philippe D. ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Philippe D. ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Philippe D. ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Philippe D. ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Philippe D. ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Philippe D. ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Philippe D. ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 206
Karma: 3243232
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: France
Device: Kobo Aura H2o; reMarkable; Onyx Max 2 Pro
Sorry to see that you got no answers, as I am having a similar problem (though not the same).

I setup my Calibre library on a Synology NAS that is mounted as SMB (I believe) on my Windows PC. So far, it seems to work. My plan was to use the same library directory with a different PC, namely, my laptop running Linux. When I tried it, Calibre froze. Checking through the documentation, I found this "Do not put your calibre library on a networked drive" in the Calibre FAQ, so I guess my setup won't work.

Is there a way to run the Calibre server from the NAS itself? It would be a perfect solution, as it is typically accessible full time, whereas my various other computers are not running 24/7. But I'm afraid any solution to this is going to involve a more complex setup, and considerable efforts (at least for me...)
Philippe D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 03:12 PM   #3
DaltonST
Deviser
DaltonST rocks like Gibraltar!DaltonST rocks like Gibraltar!DaltonST rocks like Gibraltar!DaltonST rocks like Gibraltar!DaltonST rocks like Gibraltar!DaltonST rocks like Gibraltar!DaltonST rocks like Gibraltar!DaltonST rocks like Gibraltar!DaltonST rocks like Gibraltar!DaltonST rocks like Gibraltar!DaltonST rocks like Gibraltar!
 
DaltonST's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,248
Karma: 100496
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas
Device: 8" Win10 Tablet w/Calibre64
100% Read-Only Access to a Calibre Library on a NAS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philippe D. View Post
I setup my Calibre library on a Synology NAS that is mounted as SMB (I believe) on my Windows PC. So far, it seems to work. My plan was to use the same library directory with a different PC, namely, my laptop running Linux. When I tried it, Calibre froze. Checking through the documentation, I found this "Do not put your calibre library on a networked drive" in the Calibre FAQ, so I guess my setup won't work.

Is there a way to run the Calibre server from the NAS itself? It would be a perfect solution, as it is typically accessible full time, whereas my various other computers are not running 24/7. But I'm afraid any solution to this is going to involve a more complex setup, and considerable efforts (at least for me...)

"Do not put your Calibre library on a networked drive" assumes that you will be using the Calibre GUI to access the Calibre Library. If you want to "always look but never touch" a specific Calibre Library, CalibreSpy does exactly that. See:

https://www.mobileread.com/forums/sh...4&postcount=25


https://www.mobileread.com/forums/sh...39176#poststop





DaltonST
DaltonST is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advise on Calibre installation on NAS (synology 415+) ZioNemo Calibre 5 09-20-2017 05:39 PM
Calibre on a Mac and chronosync issue with a Synology NAS hugoheitz Devices 0 05-04-2017 06:01 AM
Calibre with Synology NAS Johan1974 Devices 7 10-17-2013 05:24 PM
Calibre in Synology server kriken Related Tools 7 10-24-2012 02:58 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:29 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.