Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre Companion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-04-2018, 12:31 AM   #1
any_holder
Junior Member
any_holder began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2017
Device: Calibre
Calibre Companion Not Connecting

I am running Windows 10 on my PC, and have installed CC on my iPad. The two machines are communicating via 'home network' (pings received). Network has been set to private, and McAfee firewall has been tweaked to allow Calibre to communicate.

I have tried the default IP/port settings and also fixed ports. For the latter, CC shows connected but will eventually 'time out' and be disconnected. The following are the logs (for fixed port #9090). Any help appreciated.

Andy.
----

cc log
2018-08-04 12:07:17.452 [Default|INFO] --- applicationWillEnterForeground ---
2018-08-04 12:07:17.461 [Default|INFO] --- applicationDidBecomeActive ---
2018-08-04 12:07:33.385 [Default|INFO] Log event: A_ConnectWireless ["MobileDataEnabled": false, "WirelessPortPreset": true, "WirelessIpPreset": true, "WirelessAttemptFailure": true]
2018-08-04 12:07:33.394 [Default|INFO] WirelessDevice: Connecting to http://192.168.1.5:9090
2018-08-04 12:08:48.398 [Default|INFO] Communicator disconnected
2018-08-04 12:08:48.404 [Default|INFO] WirelessDevice: begin scanning
2018-08-04 12:08:48.423 [Default|INFO] ServerScan: Broadcasting on port 54982
2018-08-04 12:08:48.426 [Default|INFO] ServerScan: Broadcasting on port 48123
2018-08-04 12:08:48.428 [Default|INFO] ServerScan: Broadcasting on port 39001
2018-08-04 12:08:48.433 [Default|INFO] ServerScan: Broadcasting on port 44044
2018-08-04 12:08:48.435 [Default|INFO] ServerScan: Broadcasting on port 59678
2018-08-04 12:08:48.439 [Default|INFO] Searching Bonjour
2018-08-04 12:08:48.471 [Default|INFO] Received response from 192.168.1.5 via Bonjour
2018-08-04 12:08:48.916 [Default|INFO] Received response from 192.168.1.5 via Bonjour
2018-08-04 12:08:52.445 [Default|INFO] WirelessDevice: Found 1 servers
2018-08-04 12:08:52.453 [Default|INFO] WirelessDevice: Connecting to http://192.168.1.5:9090
2018-08-04 12:10:07.474 [Default|INFO] Communicator disconnected
2018-08-04 12:11:01.797 [Default|INFO] Log event: A_OpenedExtraMenu [:]
2018-08-04 12:11:05.300 [Default|INFO] Log event: V_Settings [:]
2018-08-04 12:11:07.971 [Default|INFO] Log event: A_EmailLog [:]
----
calibre Debug log
calibre 3.28 embedded-python: True is64bit: False
Windows-10-10.0.17134-SP0 Windows ('32bit', 'WindowsPE')
32bit process running on 64bit windows
('Windows', '10', '10.0.17134')
Python 2.7.12+
Windows: ('10', '10.0.17134', 'SP0', u'Multiprocessor Free')
Interface language: None
Successfully initialized third party plugins: DeDRM (6, 0, 8)
calibre 3.28 embedded-python: True is64bit: False
Windows-10-10.0.17134-SP0 Windows ('32bit', 'WindowsPE')
32bit process running on 64bit windows
('Windows', '10', '10.0.17134')
Python 2.7.12+
Windows: ('10', '10.0.17134', 'SP0', u'Multiprocessor Free')
Interface language: None
Successfully initialized third party plugins: DeDRM (6, 0, 8)
Turning on automatic hidpi scaling
devicePixelRatio: 2.0
logicalDpi: 72.0 x 72.0
physicalDpi: 88.347826087 x 87.9230769231
Using calibre Qt style: True
[0.00] Starting up...
[0.02] Showing splash screen...
[0.12] splash screen shown
[0.12] Initializing db...
[0.49] db initialized
[0.49] Constructing main UI...
[2.64] main UI initialized...
[2.64] Hiding splash screen
SMART_DEV ( 0.01: 0.005) _attach_to_port try ip address "" on port 9090
SMART_DEV ( 0.99: 0.838) _startup_on_demand listening on port 9090
SMART_DEV ( 1.08: 0.001) _attach_to_port try ip address "" on port 54982
SMART_DEV ( 1.12: 0.000) _startup_on_demand broadcast socket listening on port 54982
SMART_DEV ( 2.23: 1.070) run All IP addresses {'{CDEE4198-D073-4268-8C7F-CCE749E0001E}': [{'netmask': u'255.255.255.255', 'broadcast': u'192.168.1.5', 'addr': u'192.168.1.5'}], '{B1F338BC-E959-11E7-AD35-806E6F6E6963}': [{'netmask': u'255.255.255.255', 'broadcast': u'127.0.0.1', 'addr': u'127.0.0.1'}]}
[6.14] splash screen hidden
[6.14] Started up in 6.14 seconds with 6253 books
Sent from Mail for Windows 10
any_holder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2018, 02:17 AM   #2
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,628
Karma: 13662888
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Icarus Illumina XL HD, Nexus 7
Review this FAQ entry, "How do I setup Calibre Companion to connect to calibre?" and see if it sheds some light on your situation.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2018, 05:54 AM   #3
chaley
CC Android & calibre dev
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 8,728
Karma: 2655880
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
Quote:
Originally Posted by any_holder View Post
SMART_DEV ( 0.01: 0.005) _attach_to_port try ip address "" on port 9090
SMART_DEV ( 0.99: 0.838) _startup_on_demand listening on port 9090
SMART_DEV ( 1.08: 0.001) _attach_to_port try ip address "" on port 54982
SMART_DEV ( 1.12: 0.000) _startup_on_demand broadcast socket listening on port 54982
SMART_DEV ( 2.23: 1.070) run All IP addresses {'{CDEE4198-D073-4268-8C7F-CCE749E0001E}': [{'netmask': u'255.255.255.255', 'broadcast': u'192.168.1.5', 'addr': u'192.168.1.5'}], '{B1F338BC-E959-11E7-AD35-806E6F6E6963}': [{'netmask': u'255.255.255.255', 'broadcast': u'127.0.0.1', 'addr': u'127.0.0.1'}]}
The calibre debug log says that something on the Win10 machine is blocking incoming packets to calibre. If calibre were able to receive packets then you would see lines like the following. The first is CC asking calibre what IP and port to use, the second is the actual connection.
Code:
SMART_DEV ( 117.06:115.091) run received broadcast ('localhost', ('192.168.120.7', 54982)) calibre wireless device client (on wallaby);8080,9090
SMART_DEV ( 120.07:  3.003) run attempt to open device socket
The fact that pings work indicate that the blockage is further up in the system. My guess is that the firewall is not in fact neutralized, or that some other McAfee component is blocking incoming packets.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2018, 09:21 PM   #4
any_holder
Junior Member
any_holder began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2017
Device: Calibre
Thanks. I also suspect that it is the firewall. I have looked at various aspects and cannot isolate the issue. I have also turned the firewall off completely, and the same issue persists. Any idea why CC would not work even if the firewall is turned off?
any_holder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 05:27 AM   #5
chaley
CC Android & calibre dev
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 8,728
Karma: 2655880
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
Quote:
Originally Posted by any_holder View Post
Thanks. I also suspect that it is the firewall. I have looked at various aspects and cannot isolate the issue. I have also turned the firewall off completely, and the same issue persists. Any idea why CC would not work even if the firewall is turned off?
There are several possibilities for why calibre is being blocked:
  • The firewall is not in fact turned off. People have reported that parts of McAfee keep running even when disabled.
  • McAfee firewall is off but the Windows firewall is on and calibre is not excluded.
  • The network has reverted to "public".
  • Some other component of McAfee is blocking connections, such as "anti ramsonware" or "internet security".
  • Some other software is blocking connections. For example, the "anti-ramsonware" component in new Acronis releases seems to block connecting to calibre.
I suggest doing 2 things:
    • Turn on the calibre content server on port 8080.
    • Attempt to connect to the server from a browser on the machine running calibre. If that doesn't work then calibre is being well-and-truly blocked on its own machine. If that works ...
    • Attempt to connect to the server from a browser on your device. If that doesn't work then the problem is not in CC, but is instead in the network or on the computer running calibre. If that works ...
    • Attempt to connect with CC's Content Server Connection. If that doesn't work but the above do then we know the problem is in CC.
  1. Start the computer running calibre in safe mode. The FAQ that DoctorOhh referenced has instructions. Attempt to connect with both the content server and the wireless device. If either works then you know that some software on the calibre computer is blocking connections.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 10:19 AM   #6
any_holder
Junior Member
any_holder began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2017
Device: Calibre
Thanks!

I did check the content server and it can be accessed by the browser from the same device running Calibre (but not by CC), so the problem seems to be CC. I also tried running in safe mode, and Calibre and CC could communicate using "Wireless Connection" in CC - I was hoping to avoid going to safe mode each time I have to sync the files...
any_holder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 11:43 AM   #7
chaley
CC Android & calibre dev
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 8,728
Karma: 2655880
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
The fact that it works in safe mode says with 100% certainty that something on the computer running calibre is blocking connections. Probably McAfee, but I don't know that.

The content server test that matters is connecting using a browser on your phone/tablet. If the calibre computer isn't in safe mode then that test will probably (read almost certainly) fail.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 05:33 AM   #8
any_holder
Junior Member
any_holder began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2017
Device: Calibre
Thanks again!

As expected, the browser on a phone or a tablet cannot connect to the content server without safe mode but the two machines do recognize each other (they accept each other's pings, for example). Compatibility issues between Calibre / CC and McAfee / Windows seem most likely. However, there are a lot of knobs in the McAfee / Windows combination, and I have tried many different combinations. Calibre / CC seem to be the only pair of programs I have encountered so far with such issues; iTunes file transfer, for example, works fine in wireless mode.
any_holder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 07:50 AM   #9
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,628
Karma: 13662888
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Icarus Illumina XL HD, Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by any_holder View Post
As expected, the browser on a phone or a tablet cannot connect to the content server without safe mode but the two machines do recognize each other (they accept each other's pings, for example).
This proves that software on your machine that is not loaded during safe mode is actively blocking calibre.

Quote:
Originally Posted by any_holder View Post
Compatibility issues between Calibre / CC and McAfee / Windows seem most likely.
There is no compatibility issue. Calibre, Windows, and McAffee are operating as designed. It is up to the administrator of the computer to configure the software to allow calibre to access items outside of the computer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by any_holder View Post
However, there are a lot of knobs in the McAfee / Windows combination, and I have tried many different combinations.
You are correct there are a lot of bells and whistles in this software.

Quote:
Originally Posted by any_holder View Post
Calibre / CC seem to be the only pair of programs I have encountered so far with such issues; iTunes file transfer, for example, works fine in wireless mode.
Of course the other programs will continue to work because they aren't being actively blocked. Once you have allowed calibre through the firewall(s) or granted appropriate exceptions to calibre then it will work. Good luck.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 10:00 PM   #10
any_holder
Junior Member
any_holder began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2017
Device: Calibre
Thanks.

I fully understand and appreciate the defense of Calibre / CC but, from a user perspective, other software does not require spending hours and hours trying to sort out the firewall issues (as an administrator); other software are 100% plug and play and no tweaks are required on the firewall. Additionally, at this moment in time, there is still no solution to the problem. I am trying to get to the bottom of this not just for myself but for others who may have similar issues...

Last edited by any_holder; 08-07-2018 at 10:04 PM.
any_holder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 10:23 PM   #11
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,628
Karma: 13662888
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Icarus Illumina XL HD, Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by any_holder View Post
I fully understand and appreciate the defense of Calibre / CC but, from a user perspective, other software does not require spending hours and hours trying to sort out the firewall issues (as an administrator); other software are 100% plug and play and no tweaks are required on the firewall.
All software has to jump through the same firewall / antivirus hoops. Calibre however is frequently updated and with each update there is a chance a firewall or anti-virus software may be over aggressive and decide to block calibre.

Quote:
Originally Posted by any_holder View Post
Additionally, at this moment in time, there is still no solution to the problem. I am trying to get to the bottom of this not just for myself but for others who may have similar issues...
Since this is a calibre issue you might want to open a thread in the Calibre/Server forum and tell them that you can connect to the content server when booted in Safe mode, but you can't connect to the content server when you do a normal boot and see what suggestions they have.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Android] Calibre Companion Not Connecting Pinkie Calibre Companion 19 08-12-2018 10:38 AM
Calibre Companion not connecting Seabeejohn Calibre Companion 3 07-29-2018 04:31 PM
Calibre Companion not connecting kwemheuer Calibre Companion 7 06-25-2018 06:43 AM
Calibre Companion connecting unit / computer jayp2013mobile Calibre Companion 23 03-03-2016 02:07 PM
Calibre companion - Problems connecting turnerca Calibre Companion 3 08-26-2014 04:34 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:10 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.