Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Old 01-14-2017, 07:46 PM   #1
wishingstar
Enthusiast
wishingstar can extract oil from cheesewishingstar can extract oil from cheesewishingstar can extract oil from cheesewishingstar can extract oil from cheesewishingstar can extract oil from cheesewishingstar can extract oil from cheesewishingstar can extract oil from cheesewishingstar can extract oil from cheese

Device: Kobo Aura Edition 2, Lenovo Android 10
Cool Testing Calibre's limits (not a question!)

I wanted to test Calibre's limits in terms of handling an absurdly large number of books. I'm an engineer and can't really help it.

I created a new Calibre library and kept adding a set of ~1500 books again and again, ignoring duplicates, until I started seeing a noticeable slowdown in Calibre. This is by no means a typical situation, no one has that many books. Ultimately, Calibre begins to struggle around the 30,000 book mark.

Now I know, and now you know too!
wishingstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2017, 08:33 PM   #2
BetterRed
null operator (he/him)
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: none
@wishingstar - but I know for fact that my experience is otherwise.