Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-27-2010, 03:51 PM   #1
rbruceporter
Member
rbruceporter began at the beginning.
 
rbruceporter's Avatar
 
Posts: 16
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC USA
Device: Color Nook
Version not incrementing

My copy of Calibre keeps insisting that it is version 0.7.28. I have installed the latest version 0.7.31 today, but even though the installation completed successfully it still insists it is 0.7.28.

I have rebooted, removed, and reinstalled Calibre from scratch and it does not help. I get no errors, just the constant nag that it is not the correct version.

I have checked the file version on the drive, and it is indeed 0.7.31? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

My system is Windows 7 64-bit Professional. I have not previously had issues with upgrading from version to version before this.

One oddity about my setup, Calibre's libraries are on a shared drive on a Windows Home Server. But until now this has not caused any issues.

Thanks in advance!

Robert Porter
rbruceporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 03:52 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 39,816
Karma: 17764952
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
you probably have two calibre installs on your machine and you are launching the old one.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 11-27-2010, 04:06 PM   #3
rbruceporter
Member
rbruceporter began at the beginning.
 
rbruceporter's Avatar
 
Posts: 16
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC USA
Device: Color Nook
I hoped that might be the case, but I drilled into the Program Files(x86) folder, found Calibre2 directory, right clicked the exe, checked the version, and it was 0.7.31. I launched the exe directly and have the same problem?

Where does Calibre check it's current version from?

Thanks again!
rbruceporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 04:12 PM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 39,816
Karma: 17764952
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
is there an asterisk next to the version number in the calibre interface?
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 04:13 PM   #5
Perkin
Guru
Perkin calls his or her ebook reader Vera.Perkin calls his or her ebook reader Vera.Perkin calls his or her ebook reader Vera.Perkin calls his or her ebook reader Vera.Perkin calls his or her ebook reader Vera.Perkin calls his or her ebook reader Vera.Perkin calls his or her ebook reader Vera.Perkin calls his or her ebook reader Vera.Perkin calls his or her ebook reader Vera.Perkin calls his or her ebook reader Vera.Perkin calls his or her ebook reader Vera.
 
Perkin's Avatar
 
Posts: 655
Karma: 64171
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Kent, England, Sol 3, ZZ9 plural Z Alpha
Device: Sony PRS-300, Kobo Aura HD, iPad (Marvin)
Check the shortcut you use to launch calibre, to see where it's path is pointing to and check if it is where you thought it is.
Perkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 11-27-2010, 04:15 PM   #6
rbruceporter
Member
rbruceporter began at the beginning.
 
rbruceporter's Avatar
 
Posts: 16
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC USA
Device: Color Nook
There is an asterisk next to the version number. What does that mean?

Thanks!

Robert
rbruceporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 04:16 PM   #7
rbruceporter
Member
rbruceporter began at the beginning.
 
rbruceporter's Avatar
 
Posts: 16
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC USA
Device: Color Nook
I checked the shortcut and it is indeed pointing at the correct location. The file at that location has 0.7.31 as its file and internal versions.
rbruceporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 04:22 PM   #8
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 39,816
Karma: 17764952
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
that means you are running calibre from source
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 04:23 PM   #9
rbruceporter
Member
rbruceporter began at the beginning.
 
rbruceporter's Avatar
 
Posts: 16
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC USA
Device: Color Nook
I did download the source to view it and see if I could contribute, but had no idea it would run from there. Is there any way to override that and run it from the exe or source as I choose?
rbruceporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 04:30 PM   #10
rbruceporter
Member
rbruceporter began at the beginning.
 
rbruceporter's Avatar
 
Posts: 16
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC USA
Device: Color Nook
I am primarily a .NET and Java developer. Python development is new to me.
rbruceporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 04:33 PM   #11
kiwidude
calibre/Sigil Developer
kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,258
Karma: 1579358
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, UK
Device: Kindle Paperwhite, iPad Pro
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbruceporter View Post
I did download the source to view it and see if I could contribute, but had no idea it would run from there. Is there any way to override that and run it from the exe or source as I choose?
You had to set an environment variable to get it to run from source of CALIBRE_DEVELOP_FROM. Remove that and it will run from the exe.
kiwidude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 04:39 PM   #12
rbruceporter
Member
rbruceporter began at the beginning.
 
rbruceporter's Avatar
 
Posts: 16
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC USA
Device: Color Nook
Excellent, renamed CAILBRE_DEVELOP_FROM to XXCALIBRE_DEVELOP_FROM and it runs fine, also updated source via bzr merge and now the source version is correct as well! Thanks!
rbruceporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New version 1.3.0.0 available mikelv EPUBReader 26 08-06-2010 09:03 AM
New version 1.2.9.0 available mikelv EPUBReader 7 07-19-2010 11:10 AM
New version available mikelv EPUBReader 14 12-09-2009 12:33 AM
version 6.11 HawaiianLungs Calibre 3 09-12-2009 11:11 AM
Old version 0.4.83 available? don1011 Calibre 3 09-26-2008 02:16 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:15 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.