Notices

Old 01-25-2009, 02:59 PM   #1
dawogboro
The Audacity Of Dreams
dawogboro began at the beginning.

Device: Sony PRS-505
Transfering Metadata help

Newbie here.

I have many pdfs (mainly technical whitepapers), the names of the titles of which are sometimes far from meaningful. As I cannot edit the PDF to make the titles mean something to me, I though I could get a similar effect using Calibre.

1: I add all of the pdf files to the Cailbre Library on my PC (WinXP SP3)
2: I then deleted removed via Calibre all my pdf books (mistake I know)
3: Using Caliber, I painstakingly edit each book, making the title more meaingfull and adding tags allowing for automatic creation of collection.s on the sony
4: I then send using the books to device to my prs-505
5: After books are transferred I unplug reader from computer

The Problem:
The changes I made do not appear to be transferred along with the pdf books. So the titles revert back to the original meaningless titles. Tags seems to be transferred which so I get collecyions created.

Anyone know if I am doing something wrong or how to achieve meaningful titles without having to edit on the reader directly via Calibre.

Thanks
dawogboro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 03:16 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: Various