Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > More E-Book Readers > Ectaco jetBook

Notices

Old 02-20-2010, 05:58 PM   #1
greenapple
Evangelist
greenapple will become famous soon enoughgreenapple will become famous soon enoughgreenapple will become famous soon enoughgreenapple will become famous soon enoughgreenapple will become famous soon enoughgreenapple will become famous soon enough

Device: Kindle Paperwhite, Kindle DX, Kobo Aura HD
Why does it take so long to release firmware updates?

The last official firmware update v0.33g for jetBook was released some 6 months back. Calibre is updated on average every week.

Granted, firmware isn't the same as software, and Ectaco is certainly not the only hardware company guilty of slow output, but I still think they're taking it rather leisurely don't you think?

I'm not a programmer, but is firmware generally very time-consuming to write?
greenapple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 06:25 PM   #2
Jack Tingle
Punctuation Fetishist
Jack Tingle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jack Tingle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jack Tingle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jack Tingle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jack Tingle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jack Tingle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jack Tingle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jack Tingle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jack Tingle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jack Tingle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jack Tingle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: Kindle PW, Nexus 7 (2013), Galaxy S5 phone, Galaxy Tab 4 8.0
Yes. Especially if you want it written correctly. They now say March sometime.

Regards,
Jack Tingle
Jack Tingle is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 02-20-2010, 07:36 PM   #3