Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Development

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-13-2017, 06:48 AM   #1
elMoco
Member
elMoco began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 12
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2012
Device: Kindle Fire
Calibre on Slackware from Windows using Xming

Hi all,

I've been using a Windows laptop as a terminal form my Linux server for several years. I have installed Xming and everithing seems to work fine.

But lately Calibre doesn´t work.

It used to work fine untile few weeks ago, but now I am geting this message all the time:

Code:
jesusm@liet:~/log$ (export DISPLAY=192.168.1.39:0.0 & calibre)
failed to get the current screen resources
QXcbConnection: XCB error: 170 (Unknown), sequence: 170, resource id: 90, major code: 146 (Unknown), minor code: 20
The X11 connection broke: I/O error (code 1)
XIO:  fatal IO error 2 (No existe el fichero o el directorio) on X server "192.168.1.39:0"
      after 349 requests (349 known processed) with 0 events remaining.
jesusm@liet:~/log$
Yes, I know it seems that the problem is with the X server, but any other application works fine. using exactly the same command to run. SO I think that maybe it is a problem with some new Calibre update.

Any idea?

Thanks
JM
elMoco is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 08-13-2017, 09:11 AM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 32,235
Karma: 9820640
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
This will be an incompatibility between Qt 5.6 (which calibre 3.x uses and the X server implementation). You can stick with calibre 2.85.1 which uses an older version of Qt.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 10:56 AM   #3
elMoco
Member
elMoco began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 12
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2012
Device: Kindle Fire
Oh! Thanks! It is working now with 2.85.

Thanks!
elMoco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to get Calibre from Windows 7 to Windows 10 polli Calibre 15 08-11-2016 06:34 AM
Windows Calibre - normal Windows vs 64bit Windows midnightmaze Calibre 8 05-30-2015 08:16 AM
Moving Calibre Library from Windows 7 to Windows 8 - json code issue DramaQueenLucy Devices 14 11-12-2013 12:47 PM
EPUB Audio works on Calibre Mac but not Calibre Windows BrianHanifin Devices 3 10-21-2012 10:32 PM
Switching from Calibre Windows to Calibre Portable Philip36Fld Devices 0 04-06-2012 09:48 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:48 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.