Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Which one should I buy?

Notices

Old 12-10-2019, 12:44 PM   #1
DejaVu123
DejaVu123 began at the beginning.

Device: Kobo Aura H2O (Edition 1)
Ereader with Privacy AND Internet Access

Hi,
I'm new to the ereader world, but I am interested in buying one so I can have a dedicated reading device. I have been searching through the forums for the last few days and, being a linux/open source person, have been looking for an ereader that I can use without having to worry about data collecting/Google/analytics. However from what I can see, there seems to be no secure way of doing this except for "just keep in airplane mode."
While there is KOreader and other open source software (which I will probably use), I would like the ereader to be able to access the internet so I can search on Gutenburg/AO3/Archive and download ebooks on the device (since this is mostly how I go about reading on my smartphone).
If you have any recommendations on how I could do this, I would be very grateful. I am currently looking at the 'Kobo Glo' on eBay (budget -£80), but that is also known to use analytics from Google and Kobo themselves.
Thank you for any help!
DejaVu123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 01:39 PM   #2
Quoth
the rook, bossing Never.
Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.