Go Back   MobileRead Forums > Miscellaneous > Introduce Yourself

Notices

Old 08-08-2009, 02:37 PM   #1
bamboozled
bamboozled began at the beginning.

Device: Sony PRS-300, Compaq PPC
Hello from West Texas

Hello,

I am relatively new to the eReader scene. I was introduced to them on a palm device years ago, but at the time was not really interested in reading on a 160 x 160 screen that needed to be recharged every 2-3 hours. All that button mashing, etc. So I stuck to reading books or some pdfs etc on a PC.

Enter 2009: First heard about Kindle while browsing on Amazon. Looks nice, but the price is prohibitive. Not really interested in the high speed downloads from an airport or a 3G connection. But it did pique my interest with the screen size and portability. But I wanted something I could upload to (USB, IR, or Firewire), carry easily, had good screen resolution and a decent battery life (although this last one would be okay if I could plug in - either USB or wall)

Did a little research and the target item appears to be a Sony PRS-505. Haven't purchased one yet as I am saving up for one (unless I can catch a sweet deal on a used one somewhere). The eink static screen looks tons better than the palm screen I had used years ago and gave up on for the above mentioned reasons (plus quite a bit of eyestrain as well). Given that I am mostly interested in uploading my own files, the 505 appears to be the perfect fit for my needs (especially with the Calibra software).

BTW... Does anyone have other opinions to offer concerning another model that would fit with my needs (that is at reasonable price for a working father of 3 small children)? Is there something about this model that I should know about from those that have experience with this model?

I'll be looking around and asking questions. Hopefully I may contribute at some point.

Bamboozled
bamboozled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 03:46 PM   #2
Elsi
Wizard