Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Related Tools

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-17-2018, 12:21 PM   #1
searcygr
Junior Member
searcygr began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2018
Device: none
Correct URL to access Calibre remotely: requires username password

I am trying out different ebook readers to see what is best to use with both Calibre and Ubooquity. My Calibre is setup for remote access and requires username/password. I've tried to access remotely without good results (it fails).

I am using both an Android tablet & iPad. Both have issues.

I setup the Calibre access with the following url:

"http://usernameCOLONpassword@calibre.domain.org:8088/"

If I test the above in a Chrome browser, a dialog still pops up wanting the username/password. In an ebook reader app, I just get a failure to connect. Is there something I can put in after the http://calibre.domain.org:8088/ string to pass the username/password as a parameter?
searcygr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2018, 12:16 AM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 35,342
Karma: 12711906
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Passing login credentials in the URL does not work (and is a bad idea security wise). The calibre server uses HTTP auth. So you will get a popup asking for username/password when you try to connect.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Calibre on AWS - sudo -v requires password, default account doesn't have technicaltitch Calibre 3 06-17-2015 02:44 PM
Calibre 2.20 64bit requires password in 8.1? Marcus303 Calibre 4 03-01-2015 07:49 AM
Accessing Calibre content server from iOS safari with username & password in address Richs Calibre 0 01-18-2014 02:02 PM
Linux calibre-server: How to set username/password? qupfer Calibre 0 12-08-2011 04:54 PM
Cannot access Calibre remotely LightHouse Lady Calibre 3 08-22-2010 08:35 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:52 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.