Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Sigil

Notices

Old 03-16-2017, 01:53 PM   #1
fkustaa
fkustaa began at the beginning.

Device: Laptop
Sigil Error Message: Book File Would Not Open in Sigil

I have been editing my book in Sigil for several months and until March 10 this year. Then, the 517-page book file would not open in Sigil. I get the message that says the following: “Cannot read file /Users/friedrichkustaa/Documents/Booker T Washington Book As Copy in Sigil-1.epub: file to open is a directory.

These types of error messages are not helpful because I don’t know what “file to open is a directory” means because there are no suggestions on how to solve the problem step by step to open the file as a directory as suggested in the error message.

Also, I tried other programs such as Keka to open the book file, and this software is not opening the book file, and I get additional error messages that don’t mean anything to me. For example, in Keka I get the following error message: Creation of “Booker T Washington … pub.7z” failed. Error code 2 using "p7zip. Fatal error.

When using Calibre, I am also unable to open the book file, and I get the following error message: Failed to add the file /Volumes/Booker T Washinton Book/Booker T Washington Book As Copy in Sigil-1 copy 2.epub to the book: /Volumes/Booker T Washinton Book/Booker T Washington Book As Copy in Sigil-1 copy 2.

In Calibre I also get the following details on the error message: With error:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "site-packages/calibre/gui2/add.py", line 410, in add_formats
File "site-packages/calibre/db/cache.py", line 1383, in add_format
File "site-packages/calibre/startup.py", line 122, in local_open
IOError: [Errno 21] Is a directory: u'/Volumes/Booker T Washinton Book/Booker T Washington Book As Copy in Sigil-1 copy 2.epub.'