Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre Companion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-04-2019, 10:21 AM   #1
silentArtifact
Junior Member
silentArtifact began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2019
Device: iPhone XR
Connected to Content Server, but No Data/Download Option

Hello all,

I'm running calibre web from a docker container on my Synology NAS, and have gotten the Companion to connect successfully. It lists all my books and so forth, but when I select any book, it just displays a blank page; no options to download, or even view information on the book itself. What am I missing?
silentArtifact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 10:50 AM   #2
chaley
CC Android & calibre dev
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 8,833
Karma: 2692942
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
Quote:
Originally Posted by silentArtifact View Post
Hello all,

I'm running calibre web from a docker container on my Synology NAS, and have gotten the Companion to connect successfully. It lists all my books and so forth, but when I select any book, it just displays a blank page; no options to download, or even view information on the book itself. What am I missing?
What version of calibre are you running?

Are you changing libraries in CC after connecting? If so, does it work if you don't change libraries?
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 01-04-2019, 10:54 AM   #3
silentArtifact
Junior Member
silentArtifact began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2019
Device: iPhone XR
I'm running the most recent version, from 1/3/19 (I believe, I can dig into the logs to check for version numbers).

I haven't tried changing libraries, but then again, I'm not completely sure how... I just click "Connect" and "Content Server" and it all springs up.

Edit: The server is running from this image: https://hub.docker.com/r/linuxserver/calibre-web/

Last edited by silentArtifact; 01-04-2019 at 11:01 AM.
silentArtifact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 10:57 AM   #4
chaley
CC Android & calibre dev
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 8,833
Karma: 2692942
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
Does the device work properly when it connects to a content server that is running with the GUI? I am looking to see if there is some issue with the standalone server and URL rewriting.

What do the server logs say when the failure occurs?
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 11:26 AM   #5
silentArtifact
Junior Member
silentArtifact began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2019
Device: iPhone XR
Looked through the logs, wiped them, and tested it fresh, nothing even appears in the server log files. Not terribly helpful, I'm sure.

I'm not completely sure, as far as other content servers. I've used the wireless device connection on a machine running the Calibre Win10 client, and it connected just fine.
silentArtifact is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 01-04-2019, 12:33 PM   #6
chaley
CC Android & calibre dev
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 8,833
Karma: 2692942
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
Quote:
Originally Posted by silentArtifact View Post
Looked through the logs, wiped them, and tested it fresh, nothing even appears in the server log files. Not terribly helpful, I'm sure.

I'm not completely sure, as far as other content servers. I've used the wireless device connection on a machine running the Calibre Win10 client, and it connected just fine.
If nothing appears in the server log files then CC isn't talking to that server. If it *is* talking to that server then there will be logs showing use of URLs with "opds" in them. Make sure you are looking that the actual logs for that server.

The wireless device connection is different from the content server. I am glad that it worked, but unfortunately that doesn't help us.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 02:52 PM   #7
silentArtifact
Junior Member
silentArtifact began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2019
Device: iPhone XR
Yeah. I'll poke around with it a bit more and see if I can't figure out what's up. It's definitely finding my library, as it shows books as I add them, but... something's up. I'll fiddle with it and get back to you!
silentArtifact is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible to connect to content server or as a wireless device without WiFi connected? Rattor Calibre Companion 6 08-05-2017 07:12 PM
when connected to content server - options stumped Calibre Companion 2 05-09-2017 01:19 PM
If CC is connected to content server, what should I see? birkmaggs Calibre Companion 3 10-30-2014 07:17 PM
Content Server says connected but entering IP in Safari just hangs JMC08 Library Management 3 05-26-2014 02:25 PM
Content Server on the fly conversion option? eugener Calibre 1 03-18-2012 05:40 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:34 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.