Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Recipes

Notices

Old 04-23-2018, 01:35 PM   #1
kindle87
kindle87 began at the beginning.

Device: kindle paperwhite
First recipe: how to automatically add cover and filter out videos from RSS

Hi, I'm completely new to writing recipes and would much appreciate any help with the following:

1) Is there a course in writing calibre recipes for beginners?
2) How do I automatically add a cover to a book downloaded via a recipe?
3) Is there a way to filter out posts with videos from an RSS I'm using for my recipe?

NB Sorry if I've missed an existing thread on the issues mentioned here, please direct me to one if you know any.

Many thanks
kindle87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2018, 08:38 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: Various
1. https://manual.calibre-ebook.com/news.html is the closest

2. Set cover_url in the recipe to point to the location of the cover image

3. If the video articles have a recognizable URL (i.e. is they have something like /video/ in them you can implement the print_version() method in your recipe and return None for the URL. Otherwise implement preprocess_soup() in your recipe, look for the video tag and call self.abort_article() when detected.