Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Android Devices > enTourage eDGe > enTourage Archive

Notices

Old 01-25-2011, 04:46 PM   #1
attila.j.horvath
Edge User

file/folder encryption

All

I am new to Entourage tablet, Android and this forum. I purchased my E/E just this past December.

While I love my E/E a major issue I'm having, as I'm discovering, is the unavailability of Android Market (everyone's favorite topic it seems) and the device NOT being rooted ergo limiting available apk's I can use.

Unless I missed something, currently one serious short coming of Android devices in general is the lack of availability of file/folder encryption apk's like Truecrypt - an excellent product except it's not available for Android. Have tried SecretVaultPRO but (at least on my E/E) it doesn't work. Whenever I try closing the vault folder it crashes and corrupts it's contents.

Until something stable comes along like Truecrypt or FreeOTFE for Android this may be a reasonable workaround for some...

You can zip a folder including any subdirectories it might contain and securily encrypt it with APG:As long as files are not frequently required to be opened and/or changed, APG can provide extremely high level of security for sensitive data files.

thoughts/comments?

Attila

Old 01-25-2011, 10:03 PM   #2
cheyennedonna
Edge User

Here's one that may work for you.http://jointlogic.com/b-folders/2/android/
The apk is available on their site.

Last edited by cheyennedonna; 01-25-2011 at 10:05 PM.

Advert
Old 03-01-2011, 12:29 PM   #3
STL Droid
Edge User

I use FilesCrypter
http://www.androidzoom.com/android_a...pter_hfte.html

Old 03-29-2011, 10:33 PM   #4
martinhentges
Edge User