Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre Companion

Notices

Old 07-22-2021, 04:36 AM   #1
Bluesnowan
Bluesnowan began at the beginning.

Device: Android phone/tablet win 10 pc
sub group Genre to calibre companion

All of my library in the main Calibre is organized by Genre custom sub group.

Is there a way to transfer said tiered grouping to my tablet with calibre companion that I am missing I did a little searching but didn't really find anything.

Please help or point me where to look.
Bluesnowan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2021, 07:02 AM   #2
Uhuru N'Uru
Uhuru N'Uru began at the beginning.

Device: None
Calibre Companion doesn't do that

As far as I can tell, but I'm no expert, never used Calibre on anything except my PC, but I have manipulated entire Calibre Libraries, and the process is the same.

CC's entire reason for existing appears to be to wirelessly access the internal contents, of an existing Library stored on another device in the cloud (including your PC, which is "in the cloud", but only when on your local network).

You want to transfer an entire library to your Tablet, so you can access it directly when that local network is unavailable.

Transferring an entire Library, is easy enough to do Manually, assuming you have some means of transferring files/folders from your PC to the Tablet.

USB works just fine for android phones, so should for your Tablet, even wireless should work, and already be set up if you're using CC to access the library.

I strongly recommend using USB, as it removes unnecessary networking complications from the entire process

See this Calibre FAQ on transferring your Library folder to another Computer, and accessing it with Calibre installed on that computer.

How do I move my calibre data from one computer to another?