Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book General > General Discussions

Notices

Old 08-30-2010, 04:06 PM   #1
bigdbo622
bigdbo622 began at the beginning.

Device: nono
Epub/public library

I am new to the ebook game and I am a little confused about epub and borrowing from libraries. I am looking to get my first ereader (Really considering the Velocity Cruz coming out in Sept or Sony Pocket Reader). It supports PDF and Epub among others. Will I be able to borrow ebooks from my public library (via overdrive - DRM Protected epub I believe) just because it supports epub format? Borrowing from the library is a key feature for me, since I don't want to feel obligated to purchase all of the books in my printed backlog. Is the Kindle to only ereader that cannot borrow library books?

Thanks.
bigdbo622 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 04:14 PM   #2
eric11210
Addict
eric11210 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eric11210 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eric11210 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eric11210 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eric11210 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eric11210 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eric11210 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eric11210 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eric11210 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eric11210 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eric11210 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: Sony Reader PRS-600
I don't know about the Velocity Cruz, but I believe the Sony should work fine. You really just need to confirm that they work with Adobe Digital Editions, which most modern epub readers do. With the exception of the iPad that is.
eric11210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 08-30-2010, 04:18 PM   #3
bigdbo622

Quote:
Originally Posted by eric11210 View Post