Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Conversion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-01-2019, 08:13 PM   #1
gealmola
Junior Member
gealmola began at the beginning.
 
gealmola's Avatar
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2019
Device: None
Conversion from DJVU to PDF

Why Calibre doesn't have a DJVU to PDF conversion?

Will be in a newer version of Calibre?

Thanks in advance. Kind regards.
gealmola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2019, 09:52 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 35,315
Karma: 12711906
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
calibre does have djvu to pdf conversion, but calibre only supports text mode djvu files, not image based ones.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 10-08-2019, 01:46 AM   #3
gealmola
Junior Member
gealmola began at the beginning.
 
gealmola's Avatar
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2019
Device: None
Thank you very much for the support Kovid.

I installed recently a Calibre's new version. But it generates a new icon on Windows's desktop. So there are two icons of Calibre after installation.

Can I delete any one of them and the action make the same result?

Thanks in advance.
gealmola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 11:05 AM   #4
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 23,796
Karma: 27735644
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: K4NT, Galaxy Tab A, Kobo Aura2
Quote:
Originally Posted by gealmola View Post
Thank you very much for the support Kovid.

I installed recently a Calibre's new version. But it generates a new icon on Windows's desktop. So there are two icons of Calibre after installation.

Can I delete any one of them and the action make the same result?

Thanks in advance.
2 Icons? (and yes, you can delete ANY of those with a little arrow showing. Those are only shortcuts, not the app) '2' makes me think that you installed the other (32 vs 64) version. Right click on the icon: Properties: Look at the line TARGET
If it has x86 in it, it is the 32 bit version. Now look at the same place in the other. FWIW it is safe to uninstall all Calibres, then reinstall. Settings and Libraries remain. (DO NOT run cleaner aps that find 'unused files' during this time. Just in case they get aggressive )
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 06:27 AM   #5
Bookstooge
Connoisseur
Bookstooge doesn't feed trollsBookstooge doesn't feed trollsBookstooge doesn't feed trollsBookstooge doesn't feed trollsBookstooge doesn't feed trollsBookstooge doesn't feed trollsBookstooge doesn't feed trollsBookstooge doesn't feed trollsBookstooge doesn't feed trollsBookstooge doesn't feed trollsBookstooge doesn't feed trolls
 
Bookstooge's Avatar
 
Posts: 71
Karma: 81146
Join Date: May 2019
Device: Kindle Oasis 1st Gen
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
2 Icons? (and yes, you can delete ANY of those with a little arrow showing. Those are only shortcuts, not the app) '2' makes me think that you installed the other (32 vs 64) version. Right click on the icon: Properties: Look at the line TARGET
If it has x86 in it, it is the 32 bit version. Now look at the same place in the other. FWIW it is safe to uninstall all Calibres, then reinstall. Settings and Libraries remain. (DO NOT run cleaner aps that find 'unused files' during this time. Just in case they get aggressive )

Nah, this happens to me all the time too. Every time I install a new version, I get another icon on my win10 desktop. Now, I do rename the icon to just Calibre, instead of the long name that windows puts on it, but yes, either are fine to delete and the existing will start up Calibre just fine.
Bookstooge is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 10-09-2019, 06:13 PM   #6
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 14,723
Karma: 12617294
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bookstooge View Post
Nah, this happens to me all the time too. Every time I install a new version, I get another icon on my win10 desktop. Now, I do rename the icon to just Calibre, instead of the long name that windows puts on it, but yes, either are fine to delete and the existing will start up Calibre just fine.
You can deselect the creation of desktop shortcuts if you click the Advanced button when you install (after accepting license), otherwise the windows installer will create/replace a shortcut with name specified in the MSI script.

If you deselect it, the setting will persist across multiple installs, I deselected it in 2012, haven't seen a calibre desktop shortcut since.

BR

Last edited by BetterRed; 10-09-2019 at 06:15 PM.
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 06:52 PM   #7
Bookstooge
Connoisseur
Bookstooge doesn't feed trollsBookstooge doesn't feed trollsBookstooge doesn't feed trollsBookstooge doesn't feed trollsBookstooge doesn't feed trollsBookstooge doesn't feed trollsBookstooge doesn't feed trollsBookstooge doesn't feed trollsBookstooge doesn't feed trollsBookstooge doesn't feed trollsBookstooge doesn't feed trolls
 
Bookstooge's Avatar
 
Posts: 71
Karma: 81146
Join Date: May 2019
Device: Kindle Oasis 1st Gen
Thanks. I've never peeked under the advanced hood when installing.

Last edited by Bookstooge; 10-09-2019 at 06:53 PM. Reason: bad spelling
Bookstooge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
djvu pdf conversion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DjVu file conversion pcboo Conversion 2 01-10-2016 07:44 AM
DJVU to MOBI conversion JosephWebber Conversion 1 08-24-2015 02:38 PM
PDF to DJVU rolexconfuse PDF 8 06-12-2012 08:07 AM
Content DjVu to PDF Conversion for Kindle stvs Amazon Kindle 10 12-10-2011 08:21 AM
DJVU to EPUB conversion Ivor3648 Conversion 6 11-11-2011 04:22 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:35 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.