Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-18-2018, 09:11 AM   #1
fkuehner
Member
fkuehner began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 11
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2012
Device: Kobo Glo
C3.15: suddenly unable to add books.

Hi there,

this minday i still was able to ad books to my local Calibre libraryusing my W10 Notebook, now suddenly i am not able anymore. Trying to ad new books resilts in an error like this ( sorry, its german ):

calibre, version 3.15.0
FEHLER: Hinzufügen der Bücher nicht möglich: Hinzufügen jeglicher Bücher fehlgeschlagen. "Details anzeigen" anklicken für weitere Informationen.

Failed to start worker process
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "site-packages\calibre\utils\ipc\pool.py", line 201, in start_worker
File "site-packages\calibre\utils\ipc\pool.py", line 189, in create_worker
File "site-packages\calibre\utils\ipc\pool.py", line 73, in start_worker
File "site-packages\calibre\utils\ipc\simple_worker.py", line 166, in start_pipe_worker
File "subprocess.py", line 711, in __init__
File "subprocess.py", line 959, in _execute_child
WindowsError: [Error 2] Das System kann die angegebene Datei nicht finden

I already tried to recreate the DB but that did not change things.

Anything obvious i miss ?

byby
Freddy
fkuehner is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 01-18-2018, 09:18 AM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 32,698
Karma: 9906392
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Your antivirus is blocking the worker process calibre uses to show file dialogs. Most likely it has quarantined some files from the calibre installation directory.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2018, 09:41 AM   #3
fkuehner
Member
fkuehner began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 11
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2012
Device: Kobo Glo
Damn, youre right , Malwarebytes has quarantined calibre-parallel.exe as "Malware.Ransom.Agent.Generic" ;-(

Thanks for quick response !!!
fkuehner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 11:40 AM   #4
jpbarr03
Junior Member
jpbarr03 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2018
Device: pc with Calibre
Can't open book reader in Calibre just started to happen...but it works great in Saf

Calibre works good in Safe Mode..


Windows 10 64 bit
Kaspersky Antivirus ( have turn it off but reader will still not open)
windows defender???

Jim

Last edited by jpbarr03; 04-16-2018 at 11:46 AM.
jpbarr03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 02:04 PM   #5
JSWolf
Resident Curmudgeon
JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
JSWolf's Avatar
 
Posts: 52,169
Karma: 45958441
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roslindale, Massachusetts
Device: Kobo Aura H2O, Sony PRS-650, Sony PRS-T1, nook STR, iPad 4, iPhone 5
It's nothing to do with Windows Defender. I use it with Windows 10. What you need to do now is disable every program and ever service that runs when you boot Windows that is not part of Windows. You need to do this one by one. Disable, reboot, try Calibre and repeat until Calibre works. Once you know what software is causing the problem, you can delete it.
JSWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 04-16-2018, 09:11 PM   #6
jpbarr03
Junior Member
jpbarr03 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2018
Device: pc with Calibre
Update: It's working

Just an update...

Calibre is working
I'm pretty sure it was Acronis True image
I'm up and running again

Jim
jpbarr03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 10:10 PM   #7
jpbarr03
Junior Member
jpbarr03 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2018
Device: pc with Calibre
For anyone using Acronis True Image 2018

This link will show you how to stop Acronis from blocking Calibre...

https://kb.acronis.com/content/60190...fence_feature2

Thanks

Jim
jpbarr03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to add books 20LEgend Calibre 9 05-27-2017 07:21 PM
Unable to add books using 0.8.9 jackastor Calibre 0 07-11-2011 07:30 PM
Unable to add new books ManishS Kobo Reader 10 01-28-2011 01:04 AM
Unable to navigate to a single book using Add Books in 7.17 Josieb1 Calibre 4 09-04-2010 07:59 PM
HELP Unable to add or take off books arl215 Sony Reader 0 06-16-2010 04:32 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:25 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.