Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle > Kindle Developer's Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-23-2018, 03:07 PM   #1
Alterlab
Junior Member
Alterlab began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2018
Device: Kindle 4
Where can I find a new waveform for kindle 4

During the changing of brokenb screen I did not stored last one. Now I have the problems with greyscale.
The new screen is ED060SCN. Where can I find correct waveform?
Alterlab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 08:15 PM   #2
PoP
 curly᷂͓̫̙᷊̥̮̾ͯͤͭͬͦͨ ʎʌɹnɔ
PoP ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PoP ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PoP ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PoP ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PoP ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PoP ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PoP ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PoP ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PoP ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PoP ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PoP ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
PoP's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,356
Karma: 37874619
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: ♁ ᴺ₄₅°₃₀' ᵂ₇₃°₃₇' ±₆₀"
Device: K3₃.₄.₂ PW3₅.₁₀.₃
I know it refers to the K3 but did you look at the posts starting here in this thread, perhaps it might also help for a Kindle 4.
PoP is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2018, 12:52 PM   #3
Alterlab
Junior Member
Alterlab began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2018
Device: Kindle 4
Yes. Thank you. I read it all. There are lot of similar between k3 and k4.
My kindle contain isis.wbf but does not contain any other *.wbf files.
I found only epdc_E97_V110.fw epdc_E60_V220.fw and epdc_E60_V110.fw
When I do this command in the command line
cp epdc_E60_V110.fw isis.fbw
I get the same dirty picture
Alterlab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2018, 01:59 PM   #4
knc1
99.44/100% On Holiday
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 16,698
Karma: 17654502
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Texas
Device: No K1, PW2, KV, KOA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alterlab View Post
Yes. Thank you. I read it all. There are lot of similar between k3 and k4.
My kindle contain isis.wbf but does not contain any other *.wbf files.
I found only epdc_E97_V110.fw epdc_E60_V220.fw and epdc_E60_V110.fw
When I do this command in the command line
cp epdc_E60_V110.fw isis.fbw
I get the same dirty picture
You have to re-boot for it to have any effect.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2018, 02:32 PM   #5
Alterlab
Junior Member
Alterlab began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2018
Device: Kindle 4
Yes I did it.
Many times with each epdc_E97_V110.fw epdc_E60_V220.fw and epdc_E60_V110.fw
I checked the size of isis.wbf and it had the size of those epdc_EXX_ENN_V_LL.fw I used.
It means that they are not correct for my screen.
Alterlab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2018, 02:41 PM   #6
knc1
99.44/100% On Holiday
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 16,698
Karma: 17654502
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Texas
Device: No K1, PW2, KV, KOA
What you posted said:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alterlab View Post
Y
- - - -
When I do this command in the command line
cp epdc_E60_V110.fw isis.fbw
I get the same dirty picture
I can not read in that anything about your re-booting the device after copying the file
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alterlab View Post
Yes I did it.
- - - -
Contact the seller, have them provide the matching file.
or
Have them provide the proper model screen.
or
Just throw it away, a K4 is worth about $5usd.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2018, 02:48 PM   #7
Alterlab
Junior Member
Alterlab began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2018
Device: Kindle 4
Sorry I did not write all the procedure.
I bought the screen for the 20$ from China. But the seller did not ever heard the word waveform and he speaks English very bad.
Now it is like a challenge for me to get the result )
p.s. I surprised that no a waveform in all web
So many devices and absolutely nothing in google
Alterlab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 07:09 AM   #8
eddie.t.h
Junior Member
eddie.t.h began at the beginning.
 
eddie.t.h's Avatar
 
Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2018
Device: Many Kindle :-)
Hello. I had the same problem as you. I solved it maybe a little not elegant but important that it works. You must set the vcom voltage for this display. Try the "echo 125 > /sys/devices/platform/eink_fb.0/vcom" command. This will mean the vcom -1,25V voltage. You need to experiment with the values until you get the right effect.
The effect is immediate. Just switch pages of some book and see if it's ok. Once I got the right value, I just added this command to the file /etc/rcS.d/S10filesystems just before exit 0.
A much better solution is resolder eeprom from the original display. If you do reset to factory on the Chinese chip, your Kindle will get the bootloop because there is no data for waveform.

Good luck...

Last edited by eddie.t.h; 04-15-2019 at 06:36 PM.
eddie.t.h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 04:06 PM   #9
Alterlab
Junior Member
Alterlab began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2018
Device: Kindle 4
Thank you eddie.t.h!
I will try it
Read this article https://goodereader.com/blog/e-paper...guarded-secret about waveform
Alterlab is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Update eink waveform Zirowe Kindle Developer's Corner 118 03-12-2019 01:55 PM
Kindle 3 Keyboard - waveform for ED060SC7 (LF)H2 johnxvt-ray Kindle Developer's Corner 7 03-10-2017 02:13 AM
waveform issues.. help? readingforfun Amazon Kindle 4 10-11-2016 01:15 PM
Waveform fs (request) mmatej Kindle Developer's Corner 0 06-28-2013 02:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:31 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.