Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > More E-Book Readers > iRex > iRex Developer's Corner

Notices

Old 10-01-2007, 08:04 AM   #1
thebohemian
thebohemian began at the beginning.

Device: Neo1973
Access the hardware keys

Hi,
I am new to Iliad development.

I want to receive events when someone presses any of the hardware keys of the iliad. Can you tell me how that can be done?

Can I even get keyboard events when my app is not the focused one? If so, how?

Regards
thebohemian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 05:15 PM   #2
jharker
Developer
jharker could sell banana peel slippers to a Deveel.jharker could sell banana peel slippers to a Deveel.jharker could sell banana peel slippers to a Deveel.jharker could sell banana peel slippers to a Deveel.jharker could sell banana peel slippers to a Deveel.jharker could sell banana peel slippers to a Deveel.jharker could sell banana peel slippers to a Deveel.jharker could sell banana peel slippers to a Deveel.jharker could sell banana peel slippers to a Deveel.jharker could sell banana peel slippers to a Deveel.jharker could sell banana peel slippers to a Deveel.

Device: iRex iLiad v1, Blackberry Tour, Kindle DX, iPad.
Actually, I've studied this question in great detail. It's much more complicated than you might think. I started a thread about it over at the iRex forum, but I never posted detailed information about it. For the interested, here's a summary.

The iLiad buttons can be grouped into two categories. Yes, the power switch is considered a "button".
  • normal buttons : flipbar, up arrow, down arrow, dot key, and the escape button (upper left corner).
  • special buttons : 'books', 'news', 'notes', 'docs', IDS connect, the power switch, and the menu button (directly above the flipbar).