Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Old 05-09-2009, 01:27 PM   #1
gconway
gconway began at the beginning.

Device: Kindle
Question Calibre won't launch at all, Leopard 1.5.6

I can't start the program at all. I downloaded the most recent version, started it; it launches, asks for a directory to store files; I provide a directory; the beachball spins and the program crashes.

I'm not a programmer, developer, tech-savvy, or any of the above. I have no interest in trouble-shooting or working from command lines or examining log files. I'm a Mac user.

I want something that "just works."

This doesn't work.

From what I've read on these forums, you have to be Unix-literate to get this program running. Any chance that someone without hacker skilz can operate this thing? I'd really like to have a program I can use to manage and make my ebook files for my Kindle. As it stands I have to run the Mobipocket maker under Parallels.

Any non-techie help would be greatly appreciated.

gconway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 02:13 AM   #2
cstross
Cynic
cstross will become famous soon enoughcstross will become famous soon enoughcstross will become famous soon enoughcstross will become famous soon enoughcstross will become famous soon enoughcstross will become famous soon enough

Device: Lots, started with a Psion 3 circa 1998
It might help if you could tell us what version you've got -- Calibre changes extremely rapidly -- and also whether you created a new directory for it, or picked an existing one containing files; and whether you ran it from the mounted disk image or dragged it to your applications folder first.

(Calibre 0.5.8 works fine on my Macbook Pro, running Leopard 10.5.6; currently downloading 0.5.11 to see if that's fine too ... update yup, 0.5.11 works okay. Ergo, the problem is something specific to your machine -- not a corrupt release.)