Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-09-2018, 09:34 AM   #1
shoelesshunter
copyleft librarian
shoelesshunter began at the beginning.
 
shoelesshunter's Avatar
 
Posts: 33
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2015
Device: KV
calibre only launches with sudo

I just installed Ubuntu 17.10 (Gnome). I installed Calibre from the apt repository, but calibre fails to launch unless I prefix the command with sudo.

I tried installing from the project's home page, and I get no results that way either. In the case of installing directly from the site, Calibre won't open at all. and I receive this output:

QGtkStyle could not resolve GTK. Make sure you have installed the proper libraries

Any suggestions?
shoelesshunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 10:13 AM   #2
Adoby
Handy Elephant
Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Adoby's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,423
Karma: 10333332
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Sweden, far out in the quiet woods
Device: Ubuntu LTS, Huawei Mediapad 5, Bouye Likebook Plus
Try updating 17.10? I use 16.04 and have no problems...

Uninstall and then do a binary install using the instructions here:

https://calibre-ebook.com/download_linux

All (most?) libraries are included in the binary install. It's almost like those new fangled schnapps and what not...
Adoby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 10:55 AM   #3
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 33,747
Karma: 10215946
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
See https://bugs.launchpad.net/bugs/1740020 for the QGtkStyle error when using the official binaries.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 11:26 AM   #4
shoelesshunter
copyleft librarian
shoelesshunter began at the beginning.
 
shoelesshunter's Avatar
 
Posts: 33
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2015
Device: KV
Help me out, I am a noob. I installed the official binaries from the site. where do I set or unset environment variables?
shoelesshunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 12:18 PM   #5
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 33,747
Karma: 10215946
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
First check that it is actually set, in a terminal run

env | grep CALIBRE
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 04:50 PM   #6
shoelesshunter
copyleft librarian
shoelesshunter began at the beginning.
 
shoelesshunter's Avatar
 
Posts: 33
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2015
Device: KV
it is not set
shoelesshunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 10:57 PM   #7
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 33,747
Karma: 10215946
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Interesting, then I have no idea why Qt is trying to load the gtk style on your system. WHat is the error you get when you try to run the distro calibre without sudo?
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 12:01 PM   #8
shoelesshunter
copyleft librarian
shoelesshunter began at the beginning.
 
shoelesshunter's Avatar
 
Posts: 33
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2015
Device: KV
it works. odd, but it's fixed. thanks for the help, and thanks for Calibre. it is amazing software
shoelesshunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ubuntu

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Only runs with sudo on Ubuntu chrisbennington Calibre 4 10-15-2017 09:53 PM
calibredb cli needs admin rights (sudo) tesep Calibre 12 08-04-2017 04:06 AM
Installing Calibre on AWS - sudo -v requires password, default account doesn't have technicaltitch Calibre 3 06-17-2015 03:44 PM
Installing calibre 1.26 in linux debian with no sudo Nix Hard Calibre 5 03-02-2014 11:47 PM
Calibre launches The Gimp instead of PDF reader imageraw Library Management 5 07-13-2012 12:00 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:09 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.