Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Sigil

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-25-2019, 07:55 AM   #1
Vroni
Beast
Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'
 
Posts: 125
Karma: 10010
Join Date: Oct 2018
Device: Tolino/PRS 650/Tablet
Open With ... Greyed out

Hi,

for images i choosed Affinity Photo as my app. But once choosen, its greyed out and is not clickable. Selecting Affinity Photo via other Apllications wrks fine, still the entry unter open with stays greyed out. Any idea? (macOs Mojave, Sigil 0.9.17)
Vroni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 09:35 AM   #2
KevinH
Wizard
KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 3,634
Karma: 2200088
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
Check that Affinity Photo app in its Info.plist lists the exact file extension that you are trying to open. If an app does not list the file extension, Apple will not allow it to be opened.
KevinH is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 08-25-2019, 10:36 AM   #3
Vroni
Beast
Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'
 
Posts: 125
Karma: 10010
Join Date: Oct 2018
Device: Tolino/PRS 650/Tablet
It is, and it works if i choose with "other applicvation" und it worked fine in Sigil 0.9.9

Code:
<string>jpg</string>
				<string>jpeg</string>
				<string>jpegxr</string>
				<string>jxr</string>
				<string>j2k</string>
Vroni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 11:09 AM   #4
KevinH
Wizard
KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 3,634
Karma: 2200088
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
I am obviously not seeing this on my mac. In Sigil/src/Misc/OpenExternally.cpp
you will see that Sigil creates a detached process and runs the following command:

Code:
   if (QFile::exists(filePath) && QDir(application).exists()) {
        QStringList arguments = QStringList() << "-a" << application << filePath;
        return QProcess::startDetached("/usr/bin/open", arguments);
    }
So in Terminal.app please try running the following:

open -a YOUR_APPLICATION_NAME FULLPATHTOAFILETOBEOPENED

Does that work?

Or is this just a silly case of having a space in the application name and us needing to add quotes around the application name itself?
KevinH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 11:24 AM   #5
Vroni
Beast
Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'
 
Posts: 125
Karma: 10010
Join Date: Oct 2018
Device: Tolino/PRS 650/Tablet
The Appname is "Affinity Photo", so yes, it has a blank in the name.

Code:
open -a "Affinity Photo" ./cover1.jpg
works fine. But there wasnt a problem in Sigil 0.9.9.

Last edited by Vroni; 08-25-2019 at 11:27 AM.
Vroni is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 08-25-2019, 11:39 AM   #6
KevinH
Wizard
KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 3,634
Karma: 2200088
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
The code has not changed.

Here is that same snippet of code from Sigil 0.8.x timeframe:

Code:
if (QFile::exists(filePath) && QDir(application).exists()) {
        QStringList arguments = QStringList() << "-a" << application << filePath;
        return QProcess::startDetached("/usr/bin/open", arguments);
    }

Last edited by KevinH; 08-25-2019 at 11:44 AM.
KevinH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 11:45 AM   #7
KevinH
Wizard
KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 3,634
Karma: 2200088
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vroni View Post
The Appname is "Affinity Photo", so yes, it has a blank in the name.

Code:
open -a "Affinity Photo" ./cover1.jpg
works fine. But there wasnt a problem in Sigil 0.9.9.

Where is the .app in the App name?
KevinH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 11:49 AM   #8
Vroni
Beast
Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'
 
Posts: 125
Karma: 10010
Join Date: Oct 2018
Device: Tolino/PRS 650/Tablet


I didnt typed it in, so its not present.

Code:
open -a "Affinity Photo.app" ./cover1.jpg
works as well

entry in sigil.ini

Code:
[open_with]
editors_image=Affinity Photo\x1f/Applications/Affinity Photo.app

Last edited by Vroni; 08-25-2019 at 11:51 AM.
Vroni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 12:04 PM   #9
KevinH
Wizard
KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 3,634
Karma: 2200088
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
Hmm... we could try wrapping the application name in the open command in quotes but that has never been needed in the past.

What happens if you exit Sigil and then edit the sigil.ini file as follows:

editors_image=Affinity Photo\x1f"/Applications/Affinity Photo.app"

To wrap the actual application path in double quotes.

Then fire up Sigil and try.
KevinH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 12:22 PM   #10
Vroni
Beast
Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'
 
Posts: 125
Karma: 10010
Join Date: Oct 2018
Device: Tolino/PRS 650/Tablet
Still greyed out
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2019-08-25 at 18.20.15.png
Views:	24
Size:	1,016.0 KB
ID:	173119  
Vroni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 12:30 PM   #11
KevinH
Wizard
KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 3,634
Karma: 2200088
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
Perhaps a bug in the Image Tab code. Please try right clicking on the cover.jpg name in the BookBrowser window itself.

Any difference?

Last edited by KevinH; 08-25-2019 at 12:33 PM.
KevinH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 12:42 PM   #12
KevinH
Wizard
KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 3,634
Karma: 2200088
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
Just found it. Definite bug in context menu creation code in ImageTab code. I will push a fix for it.

As a workaround, use right click in BookBrowser window to launch what you need.

Kevin
KevinH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 12:47 PM   #13
KevinH
Wizard
KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 3,634
Karma: 2200088
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
Now fixed in master.
KevinH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 12:58 PM   #14
Vroni
Beast
Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'Vroni knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'
 
Posts: 125
Karma: 10010
Join Date: Oct 2018
Device: Tolino/PRS 650/Tablet
ACK. Bookbrowser works fine.
Vroni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 01:07 PM   #15
DiapDealer
Grand Sorcerer
DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DiapDealer's Avatar
 
Posts: 20,870
Karma: 114848586
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
I never even new there was a different context menu on the tab itself that could be used with Open With. Always used the Book Browser context menu.
DiapDealer is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
metadata.db is greyed out ChipAHoy Library Management 1 10-02-2018 09:51 PM
Why are Genres greyed out? docmartn Library Management 2 05-03-2017 12:07 PM
Vocabulary builder greyed out crowned Amazon Kindle 6 01-31-2017 12:16 AM
Greyed out Tags jaysel Library Management 2 02-19-2011 12:26 PM
My Books Greyed out Psyke Kobo Reader 0 10-26-2010 11:24 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:00 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.