Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-10-2017, 02:56 AM   #1
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 31,294
Karma: 8154029
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Beta testers for calibre 3.0 needed

Hi all,

After almost three years of on-and-off development, calibre 3.0 is now ready for beta testing!

Please run the beta as you would normal calibre and report any problems you encounter in this thread. I have been personally using the beta calibre on linux as my normal calibre for several months now with no problems. There are no changes to the database/conversion/viewing/editing/user interface code so those should all work just as before. That said, always be safe by backing up your data before trying out the beta.

Thank you for your help in making calibre 3 possible!


The major new features are:

Spoiler:
  1. All new Content server.
    • You can now read books directly in a web browser, even when there is no internet connection. This means you no longer need to use an app on your phone/tablet to read books. Instead you can directly connect to the calibre server and read books in the browser itself. The books are stored in offline storage so you can read even when the network is not available.
    • The server can show multiple calibre libraries
    • The server supports multiple user accounts. And you can control which libraries each user can access.
    • The server can now make changes to your calibre libraries (adding books, editing metadta, etc.). Currently this feature can only be accessed using the calibredb command line tool. A web user interface for it will be added in the future.
    • The server is very new and will have many missing features. These will be added over the course of normal calibre development after calibre 3. Feel free to request new features as part of your beta feedback. A list of features I intend to add in the future is here: https://github.com/kovidgoyal/calibr...e/srv/TODO.rst
  2. High DPI (Retina) monitor support

    This is automatic if you have a High DPI monitor, calibre's interface should get scaled appropriately. You can turn it off via Preferences->Look & Feel->Adjust for high resolution screens


Backwards incompatibility:
Spoiler:
  • The Content server was completely re-written. While I have tried hard to make sure the APIs used by third party programs that connect to calibre remain compatible, there is likely to be some breakage. Also, no changes you made to any server options will be preserved. For example, if you changed the port from the default of 8080, it will be reset to 8080. You will have to redo the configuration.
  • Because the content server can now make changes to calibre libraries, you can no longer run calibredb.exe, calibre-server.exe, calibre.exe together, as they are all capable of modifying calibre data. Instead of running calibre.exe and calibre-server.exe, use the embedded server inside the main calibre program. calibredb.exe can now connect directly to a running calibre server (either calibre-server.exe or the server running inside calibre). See https://github.com/kovidgoyal/calibr.../custom.py#L99 for details on how to do that.
  • On linux calibre can no longer uses the system Qt theme/style plugins as they cause hangs/crashes on some systems. This means calibre might look a little different from other applications on your system. You can force the use of the system theme by setting the environment variable CALIBRE_USE_SYSTEM_THEME, but do so at your own risk.


How to install the beta

Spoiler:

Betas for all platforms are available here: https://download.calibre-ebook.com/betas/

They have version numbers starting with 2.99. You can install them just as you would a normal calibre. If something goes wrong, simply un-install and go back to using the current calibre release.

On Windows, you can also use the calibre portable beta to test things in an isolated way.

On macOS you can simply install calibre.app somewhere other than /Applications and run it separately from your main calibre install.

On Linux you install the beta by un-tarring the tarball into some empty directory, for example, in a terminal:

Code:
mkdir calibre-beta && tar xvf /path/to/downloaded/tarball.tar.xz -C calibre-beta
and then run the beta as:
Code:
calibre-beta/calibre


Known issues

Spoiler:
  • The new Content server is a very large piece of software written from scratch over several years (~ 20,000 lines of code). As such, it is bound to have problems, especially given the wild diversity of browsers out there. I have tested it on Chrome and Firefox and I know that it does not work well with Microsoft browsers (Internet Explorer and Edge) which are missing features it needs. But, there are many other browsers out there for which I dont have the resources to test, most prominently, Safari on macOS/iOS.
  • On windows, calibre is now built with Visual Studio 2015 (upgraded from Visual Studio 2008). While this should cause no problems, there might be issues, especially on older windows, like Vista.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	home.png
Views:	620
Size:	818.5 KB
ID:	156608   Click image for larger version

Name:	book_list1.png
Views:	464
Size:	1,011.2 KB
ID:	156609   Click image for larger version

Name:	book_list2.png
Views:	469
Size:	716.0 KB
ID:	156610   Click image for larger version

Name:	reader.png
Views:	404
Size:	462.1 KB
ID:	156611  

Last edited by kovidgoyal; 06-02-2017 at 03:06 PM.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 05-10-2017, 04:53 AM   #2
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 8,827
Karma: 7214735
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
Installed Windows portable, welcome wizard did its normal thing, portable started, showed the splash, and hung - Windows reports program not responding, so I terminated it. Here's the splash

Click image for larger version

Name:	splash.JPG
Views:	132
Size:	48.3 KB
ID:	156616

No other calibre was running - this was immediately after a WU reboot. My calibre 64 bit (2.84), and a previously installed calibre portable (2.83) are working fine.

Might as well ask something I intended asking, assuming its not there already. Could there be an option to use a nominated browser rather than than the system default e.g. I would nominate ==>> C:\Program Files (x86)\QupZilla\qupzilla.exe.

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 04:58 AM   #3
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 31,294
Karma: 8154029
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
A browser for what?


As for the hang,
Run it with

calibre-debug -g

and post the output
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 04:58 AM   #4
Terisa de morgan
Wizard
Terisa de morgan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Terisa de morgan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Terisa de morgan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Terisa de morgan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Terisa de morgan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Terisa de morgan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Terisa de morgan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Terisa de morgan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Terisa de morgan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Terisa de morgan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Terisa de morgan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Terisa de morgan's Avatar
 
Posts: 4,239
Karma: 4547629
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Madrid, Spain
Device: Kobo Aura, Kobo Aura One, XiaoMI 5, iPad, Huawei MediaPad, YotaPhone 2
I've installed calibre portable, edited a book and use some functions. No problem... aside of the details font has changed.
Terisa de morgan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 05:06 AM   #5
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 31,294
Karma: 8154029
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
@Terisa Changed to a different font or changed in size?
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 05-10-2017, 05:10 AM   #6
Terisa de morgan
Wizard
Terisa de morgan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Terisa de morgan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Terisa de morgan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Terisa de morgan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Terisa de morgan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Terisa de morgan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Terisa de morgan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Terisa de morgan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Terisa de morgan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Terisa de morgan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Terisa de morgan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Terisa de morgan's Avatar
 
Posts: 4,239
Karma: 4547629
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Madrid, Spain
Device: Kobo Aura, Kobo Aura One, XiaoMI 5, iPad, Huawei MediaPad, YotaPhone 2
It looks like different font, but I can be wrong. I'll check in detail at home, and I'll be back to you.
Terisa de morgan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 05:31 AM   #7
nqk
Addict
nqk began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 212
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Samsung Galaxy Tab 8.9
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post


As for the hang,
Run it with

calibre-debug -g

and post the output
It would hang when I launch Calibre-portable.
If I go to the Calibre folder and run the Calibre.exe, it loads fine.
nqk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 05:32 AM   #8
Sweetpea
Grand Sorcerer
Sweetpea ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sweetpea ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sweetpea ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sweetpea ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sweetpea ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sweetpea ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sweetpea ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sweetpea ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sweetpea ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sweetpea ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sweetpea ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Sweetpea's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,191
Karma: 28204808
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Krewerd
Device: Dell V8Pro; Asus Zenpad S8; Onyx Boox T68; Kobo Aura One
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
A browser for what?


As for the hang,
Run it with

calibre-debug -g

and post the output
Even if calibre-debug -g works? If I start calibre-portable, it'll hang, when I run calibre-debug -g it'll start the application. (just making sure if that's what you'd expect, trying to get the output from my tablet to mobileread is a pain, so I prefer to only do it if it really helps).

One big plus, from what I've seen with the calibre-debug: scrollbars! The current calibre is almost impossible to use on a portrait screen

Edit: same situation as nqk: calibre-portable hangs, calibre.exe doesn't.

Last edited by Sweetpea; 05-10-2017 at 05:35 AM.
Sweetpea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 05:40 AM   #9
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 8,827
Karma: 7214735
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
A browser for what?


As for the hang,
Run it with

calibre-debug -g

and post the output
A browser for the server when its run from within the GUI, I don't like having my workhorse browser (firefox) cluttered with calibre library pages.

How do I run calibre-debug for a specific instance of calibre portable. It always runs the installed version - i.e. the one in the path.

Meanwhile I'll try the 32bit version

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 05:41 AM   #10
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 31,294
Karma: 8154029
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Odd calibre-portable.exe works fine on my computer.

What kind of hang is it? Is it using CPU? WHat happens if you wait for five minutes, does it stay hung?
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 05:43 AM   #11
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 31,294
Karma: 8154029
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
@BR: calibre portable is 32bit.

And you can use whatever browser you like with the server.

If the issue, as others have reported is only with calibre-portable.exe, calibre-debug will not help.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 05:47 AM   #12
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 8,827
Karma: 7214735
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by nqk View Post
It would hang when I launch Calibre-portable.
If I go to the Calibre folder and run the Calibre.exe, it loads fine.
- but with my regular configuration and libraries

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 05:56 AM   #13
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 8,827
Karma: 7214735
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
@BR: calibre portable is 32bit.

And you can use whatever browser you like with the server.

If the issue, as others have reported is only with calibre-portable.exe, calibre-debug will not help.
It hangs forever, well 5 minutes, in the "Loading books" phase. CPU load is ~25%

I'm accustomed to startup times of < 20secs on a +100K book library.

I wonder if it has to do with existing environment variable settings, mine are:

Click image for larger version

Name:	envvars.jpg
Views:	186
Size:	132.2 KB
ID:	156618

Windows 10 64bit 1607, up to date as of 2 hours ago.

BR

Last edited by BetterRed; 05-10-2017 at 06:12 AM.
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 05:58 AM   #14
Sweetpea
Grand Sorcerer
Sweetpea ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sweetpea ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sweetpea ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sweetpea ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sweetpea ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sweetpea ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sweetpea ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sweetpea ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sweetpea ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sweetpea ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sweetpea ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Sweetpea's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,191
Karma: 28204808
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Krewerd
Device: Dell V8Pro; Asus Zenpad S8; Onyx Boox T68; Kobo Aura One
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Odd calibre-portable.exe works fine on my computer.

What kind of hang is it? Is it using CPU? WHat happens if you wait for five minutes, does it stay hung?
It uses around 40% CPU and I'll connect my power supply and see if it'll ever finishes...

Windows 10.0.15063, 64 bit

Last edited by Sweetpea; 05-10-2017 at 06:03 AM.
Sweetpea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 06:17 AM   #15
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 31,294
Karma: 8154029
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Hmm if it is using CPU then it's likely not a permanent hang. Can one of you use Process Monitor and see what it says about what the process is doing?

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/...ssmonitor.aspx
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beta testers needed kovidgoyal Calibre 54 05-20-2016 12:34 PM
Windows beta testers needed kovidgoyal Calibre 19 02-08-2016 04:38 PM
Beta testers for calibre 2.0 needed kovidgoyal Calibre 142 05-08-2015 04:44 AM
Arc Updated Jelly Bean release - Beta testers needed kobo-adrian Kobo Tablets 19 05-23-2013 09:32 PM
Web Browsing from the Ebw-1150 - BETA Testers needed Nate the great Fictionwise eBookwise 26 09-21-2008 11:52 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:01 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.