Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-17-2017, 08:01 PM   #1
DodgerNeighbor
Junior Member
DodgerNeighbor began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Device: Kindle Paperwhite
How to have Calibre 3 server act like Calibre 2

I had to back out Calibre 3 and return to Calibre 2. I run the server from the GUI, with no userids and with a virtual library specified.

As far as I can determine,

1. Calibre 3 shows multiple libraries. This will confuse my users, as (a) they are both named "Calibre Library" and (b) one library is a working version with only a few transient books. I would like to hide the other libraries from the users.

2. Calibre 3 does not limit the users to a specific virtual library. I could do this by activating user authentication and having them login, but they are not accustomed to this. I would like to be able to specify a virtual library for all users.

3. Calibre 3 shows the virtual library selection criteria. This is a cosmetic issue, but I think that it might be confusing. (And I may not want them to see "not tag:MyLittlePonyCollection" ... 'cuz they'll call me a Brony). I would like to hide the underlaying tags for the virtual library.

Are there options in Calibre 3 which allow me to achieve my goals?
DodgerNeighbor is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 06-17-2017, 10:00 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 30,862
Karma: 7728435
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
1 and 2 are both doable with user authentication. 3 is not.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 01:31 AM   #3
chaley
CC Android Developer
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 8,234
Karma: 2130500
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
You can get most of#3 by using a saved search as the VL selection criteria. The users see the search name instead of the search expression.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 02:28 AM   #4
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 8,572
Karma: 7100215
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
@DodgerNeighbor - FWIW on Windows, I've been running three V2 server tasks (started from command files) and a V3 GUI since last Wednesday with no problems. At the moment the GUI is the 32 bit variant and the servers are the 64bit variant, I'll swap those in a couple of weeks if I don't run into problems between now and then.

My issues are different to yours. They relate to the way I use the server from within Evernote and Onenote. To use the V3 server I need to rejig the linkages that EN and ON use, and right now I don't see any compelling reason to do that.

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 02:12 AM   #5
DodgerNeighbor
Junior Member
DodgerNeighbor began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Device: Kindle Paperwhite
Kovid, can I have user authentication with a default userid which has no password?

Last edited by DodgerNeighbor; 06-19-2017 at 02:19 AM. Reason: Fix autocorrect for Kovid
DodgerNeighbor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 02:39 AM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 30,862
Karma: 7728435
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
You can use whatever you like, if you want to use a default user/password calibre will not stop you. You do need both a username and a password though. You can make them both the same if you want, although I dont recommend doing that if you intend to expose the server on public networks.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
calibre-sync: Automatically download books from your Calibre Content Server onto Kobo mishagale Related Tools 13 04-14-2017 08:46 AM
Calibre companion, calibre-server, and url-prefix: A question for the dev duckpuppy Calibre Companion 4 10-10-2016 09:05 AM
Using Cloud Service with Calibre Companion vs a Local Calibre Server varaonaid Calibre Companion 26 04-10-2016 01:55 AM
Do I need to run Calibre content server to use Calibre Companion flyash Calibre 2 04-06-2013 10:19 PM
connecting from one Calibre app to another Calibre server edabxv Library Management 3 07-28-2012 07:21 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:38 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.