Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-17-2017, 05:25 PM   #1
hgelpke
Junior Member
hgelpke began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2017
Device: Nook Glowlight Plus
Calibre 3 - "Choose the calibre library to browse" in browswer

I've started my content server and when I go to the webpage, it gives the message "Choose the calibre library to browse" but here is no option to choose anything. Tried on both Chrome and Firefox.

Calibre is running on Windows 7
hgelpke is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 06-17-2017, 06:59 PM   #2
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 20,685
Karma: 20350406
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: K4NT, Galaxy Tab 2(RIP)
There should be 1 or mor buttons below that message.
The number of buttons matches the libraries Calibre knows about (vi switch/create)
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 07:21 PM   #3
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 8,838
Karma: 7214735
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none


Click image for larger version

Name:	5.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	43.2 KB
ID:	157368

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 10:06 PM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 31,308
Karma: 8154029
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
This can happen on windows if your calibre library folder is the root folder of a drive. Either wait for the next calibre release or move your calibre library into a sub-folder.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2017, 09:49 PM   #5
Gnomeore
Junior Member
Gnomeore began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2017
Device: iPad, Kindle Paper White
RE: Choose the Calibre library to browse. Select which to share.

I have two Calibre libraries, one private, the other public.
The public one has tutorials that I share. The private one has ebooks that I have purchased.

I only wish to share the public as sharing the private one would be illegal. Is there a way to choose which of my libraries that I wish to share? This was not a problem before as it only shared the current library.

I have looked at the Sharing over the Net settings and searched the forums (that is how I found this thread).

Calibre is a great ebook management program, well worth supporting.

Last edited by Gnomeore; 07-30-2017 at 09:56 PM. Reason: Added more information
Gnomeore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2017, 11:19 PM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 31,308
Karma: 8154029
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
You restrict which libraries to share by setting up user accounts. You can then specify which users have access to which libraries.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2017, 09:28 AM   #7
Gnomeore
Junior Member
Gnomeore began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2017
Device: iPad, Kindle Paper White
Hide Private Calibre Library from Public

Thankful for the reply Kovid. However it does not completely solve my problem.

I run two libraries within Calibre; one private, the other public. It would be very good to only display the public library in the Content Server.

My private library has ebooks that I have purchased. With the public library I host computer tutorials for a not-for-profit organisation via our Wi-Fi network. I know from the previous post that I can use passwords to restrict access to both but it would be much better if the private one was not listed via the Content Server (it does not look good for me to have my private library listed even though they cannot access it.

I tried to run two copies on Calibre to get around this problem however it seems that I can only run one at a time on my Mac. The only other solution with version 3.x is to run it on two seperate Mac computers.

It may not be possible with the current version to have private libraries but it would be good if it could be considered in a future addition. So it looks like I will have to go back to version 2.x for the time being.

Another problem is that the name of our not-for-profit organisation has a hyphen (-) in it and all of our online services use this as part of our user-name. Version 3 of Calibre no longer seems to support a hyphen in the user-name so I would have to either change this for all our services or just go to using version 2.x. I am sure that there was a reason to make this change in terms of some compatibility problem but it would be good if there was a setting to allow this. There may be one but I could not see it.

If any one has found a way around these problems I would be very grateful.

Calibre is still my number one choice and I am happy to support it. I am actually running a Calibre training sessions for our members next weekend at our members' request.
Gnomeore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2017, 10:08 AM   #8
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 31,308
Karma: 8154029
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
There's no problem with adding hyphens to usernames, I simply forgot to include it in the vailadation routine. However, I dont see how that matters as far as calibre 3.x vs 2.x is concerned, since in 2.x there were no usernames at all (well technically a single fixed one).

And if you restrict access to a library it is not listed on the home page at all, for users that do not have access to it.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
calibre 2.38: refresh on "browse image in book" does not seem to work DrChiper Editor 16 09-25-2015 02:43 AM
"Virtual" books won't add to calibre library Tanja1969 Library Management 7 04-09-2015 12:44 AM
Putting calibre's library into synology "cloud station" tsolignani Library Management 9 10-28-2013 10:04 AM
Network drive spun down: "Failed to create calibre library at: u'Z:\\Calibre Library" dmck Calibre 6 09-21-2013 06:11 PM
Cloud Drive, is it possible for calibre to "connect" to an existing library? MuckyMuck Related Tools 5 03-01-2013 11:42 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:45 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.