Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book General > General Discussions

Notices

Old 11-10-2013, 06:13 AM   #1
mormequill
mormequill began at the beginning.

Device: Onyx Boox M92
Note-taking, research, and e-reader integration

questions:
(1) How can an e-reader best be integrated into an intensive note-taking system for long-term research?
(2) Specifically, if I wanted to read without sitting at my computer, what do you think the best way to take notes would be?

Hey! So I'm a grad student in social science, trying to put together a research method that'll let me use an e-reader. The idea is to avoid the expense of print texts and the insanity that comes from staring at a computer screen for twelve hours a day reading books and articles. As a content consumption device, they're perfect.

But any academic will tell you that there's very little point to just reading something; academic practice is all about research with the goal of finding points of commonality, congruence, and contradiction, both within and between sources. In other words, note-taking (a kind of production) is a non-optional part of consumption.

Computers offer the best note-taking possibilities. Digital notes can be sorted, tagged, linked to content, and searched. I have yet to find anything that works half as well (for me personally) as Evernote, which does everything I could possibly want it to, except that it's not available for any e-readers except maybe some from Sony (?).