Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle

Notices

Old 12-19-2009, 12:58 PM   #1
dndrich
dndrich began at the beginning.

Device: Kindle 2
Youth in Revolt

Kindlepals:

I shall receive my Kindle for the holidays! Can't wait. Interestingly, I bought one for my wife, and she surreptitiously bought one for me...can't tell her that I know! So, one book I would like her to have is from CD Payne, Youth in Revolt. Now that is not available in the Kindle store. The later volume is, but that one is not. I have seen it available from other ebook sellers, but I am new to this ebook thing, and I have to figure that the book has DRM from other sellers. So, any idea how to get this book in a form that will work with Kindle?
dndrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 03:50 PM   #2
catsittingstill
Guru
catsittingstill ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.catsittingstill ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.catsittingstill ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.catsittingstill ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.catsittingstill ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.catsittingstill ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.catsittingstill ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.catsittingstill ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.catsittingstill ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.catsittingstill ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.catsittingstill ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: Kindle 1.0.8, iPod Touch, Kindle Keyboard
Congratulations on your new Kindle, and I hope you enjoy it very much.

A Kindle can read plain text, .mobi, .prc and .pdf but the kicker is that the only kind of DRM (encryption) it can use is the Amazon DRM. (Pretty much every e-book reader I know of can only use one kind of DRM, but which kind varies from reader to reader.)