Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Development

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-16-2014, 04:47 PM   #1
Sladd
Junior Member
Sladd began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2014
Device: Kindle
Loading Plugin in development

Hello !

The question might have been asked a thousand times already, but I can't find the answer to this simple question :

I have a Plugin I'm trying to develop for Calibre, the point is easy, but I need to do some try&errors, and I need to reload the plugin often.

But it's a bit long, actually, I start Calibre, uninstall the actual version, install the new, and relaunch Calibre in order to have the button in the Toolbar.

Is there a better way ?

When I try to change the Plugin.zip in %appdata%/calibre/plugins, the button disapear from the toolbar.

Thanks you for reading me !
Sladd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 10:05 PM   #2
PeterT
Grand Sorcerer
PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
PeterT's Avatar
 
Posts: 10,363
Karma: 60928043
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Device: Nexus 7, Clara, Touch, Tolino EPOS
Does http://manual.calibre-ebook.com/crea...ugging-plugins help ?
PeterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 06-16-2014, 11:56 PM   #3
davidfor
Grand Sorcerer
davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 15,477
Karma: 25810738
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Device: Kobo:Touch,Glo,Aura H2O,Glo HD,Aura ONE,Clara HD,Forma;tolino epos
I use a command file to package the plugin and start calibre.

Code:
del "KoboUtilities.zip"
"c:\Program Files\7-Zip\7z.exe" a "KoboUtilities.zip" __init__.py about.txt action.py book.py common_utils.py container.py dialogs.py jobs.py config.py "KoboUtilities_Help.html" plugin-import-name-KoboUtilities.txt run.cmd images/* translations/*.po translations/*.mo
mode 165,999
calibre-debug -s
calibre-customize -a "KoboUtilities.zip"
SET CALIBRE_DEVELOP_FROM=D:\Development\GitHub\calibre\src
calibre-debug  -g
That:
  • Removes and rebuilds the zip file
  • Stops the current calibre session
  • Sets the command window size to maximum for my screen
  • Adds the plugin to calibre
  • Sets an environment variable to point to the calibre source
  • Starts calibre in debug mode

Setting the environment variable is only needed if you want to run calibre from source. For a plugin, you don't usually need to.
davidfor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 05:50 AM   #4
Sladd
Junior Member
Sladd began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2014
Device: Kindle
Hello !

Both of your method install the plugin, but I don't see the icon in the toolbar, the plugin is just installed, not placed in the toolbar.

No way to go around this ?
Sladd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 10:08 AM   #5
davidfor
Grand Sorcerer
davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.davidfor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 15,477
Karma: 25810738
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Device: Kobo:Touch,Glo,Aura H2O,Glo HD,Aura ONE,Clara HD,Forma;tolino epos
You will need to add it to the appropriate toolbar using the preferences. The installation can prompt the user to do this.
davidfor is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 06-17-2014, 12:15 PM   #6
Sladd
Junior Member
Sladd began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2014
Device: Kindle
When I install the plugin byt the preference, yeah, I'm prompted.

But I need to do this manually, every time, it's quite time consuming for a fast workflow, no ?
Sladd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 07:57 PM   #7
jackie_w
Wizard
jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,612
Karma: 11060000
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Device: Sony:PRS-350, Kobo:Aura6"/H2O/GloHD/KA1/ClaraHD/Forma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sladd View Post
When I install the plugin byt the preference, yeah, I'm prompted.

But I need to do this manually, every time, it's quite time consuming for a fast workflow, no ?
Once the plugin icon is on your chosen toolbar you shouldn't need to add it each time you update the plugin zip file - at least I don't.

If the icon is no longer visible after a calibre restart it's probably because there is an error in the updated plugin and it has failed to load correctly during the restart. Restarting calibre in debug mode (calibre-debug -g) would show these errors in the debug log.
jackie_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question for plugin development gurus DiapDealer Plugins 2 02-05-2012 12:33 AM
User Interface Plugin Creation & Development Process ldolse Development 0 11-04-2011 06:33 AM
DR800 Plugin development for DR800/DR1000 yuri_b iRex Developer's Corner 0 09-18-2010 10:46 AM
Device plugin development reader42 Plugins 10 03-29-2010 01:39 PM
Calibre plugin development - Newbie problems minstrel Plugins 5 04-12-2009 01:44 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:36 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.