Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Plugins

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-26-2020, 10:21 PM   #46
capink
Addict
capink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipedia
 
Posts: 263
Karma: 47128
Join Date: Aug 2015
Device: Kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by ownedbycats View Post

EDIT: The settings are still showing in action_chains.json, they just aren't loading properly. I think I may have found something relevant though:

Code:
              "action_name": "Calibre Actions",
              "action_settings": [
                {
                  "display": "Show marked books (2)",
                  "path": [
                    "Mark Books",
                    "Show marked books (2)"
                  ]
Yes, that part highlighted in red is the culprit. I don't know yet where that extra part came from.

Update: Apparently menu action for show marked books changes based on the number of the currently marked books, making the saved value in the chain invalid whenever the number of marked books change. I will see how to fix this tomorrow.

Last edited by capink; 11-27-2020 at 07:14 AM.
capink is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 10:36 PM   #47
capink
Addict
capink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipedia
 
Posts: 263
Karma: 47128
Join Date: Aug 2015
Device: Kindle
Custom actions list

Here is a list of custom action posted on this thread:

Last edited by capink; 12-27-2020 at 06:40 PM.
capink is online now   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 11-26-2020, 10:38 PM   #48
ownedbycats
Wizard
ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 1,555
Karma: 3006738
Join Date: Oct 2018
Device: Kobo Aura HD
Yes. More oddities: When first starting a Calibre session, it's "Show marked books" with no number. The (0) appears after marking then unmarking. A single marked book shows up as "Show marked book" (no number).
ownedbycats is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 10:39 PM   #49
ownedbycats
Wizard
ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 1,555
Karma: 3006738
Join Date: Oct 2018
Device: Kobo Aura HD
Also, new version fixed the broken configs. Thank you.
ownedbycats is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 10:41 PM   #50
capink
Addict
capink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipedia
 
Posts: 263
Karma: 47128
Join Date: Aug 2015
Device: Kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by ownedbycats View Post
Yes. More oddities: When first starting a Calibre session, it's "Show marked books" with no number. The (0) appears after marking then unmarking. A single marked book shows up as "Show marked book" (no number).
Thanks for your testing and time. Sorry for the mishap with first beta. Hopefully the second is working (mark problem aside)
capink is online now   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 11-26-2020, 10:42 PM   #51
ownedbycats
Wizard
ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 1,555
Karma: 3006738
Join Date: Oct 2018
Device: Kobo Aura HD
Also, Reading List's Calibre Action has a different name entirely from the menu (View Fanfiction list (x)), which is why it worked when Mark Books failed:

Code:
        "active": true,
        "chain_settings": {
          "chain_links": [
            {
              "action_name": "Calibre Actions",
              "action_settings": [
                {
                  "display": "View list: Fanfiction",
                  "path": [
                    "Reading List",
                    "View list: Fanfiction"
                  ]
                }
              ]
            }
          ]
        },
        "image": "",
        "menuText": "Reading List Test",
        "subMenu": ""
ownedbycats is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2020, 10:51 AM   #52
capink
Addict
capink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipedia
 
Posts: 263
Karma: 47128
Join Date: Aug 2015
Device: Kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by ownedbycats View Post
Also, Reading List's Calibre Action has a different name entirely from the menu (View Fanfiction list (x)), which is why it worked when Mark Books failed:

Code:
        "active": true,
        "chain_settings": {
          "chain_links": [
            {
              "action_name": "Calibre Actions",
              "action_settings": [
                {
                  "display": "View list: Fanfiction",
                  "path": [
                    "Reading List",
                    "View list: Fanfiction"
                  ]
                }
              ]
            }
          ]
        },
        "image": "",
        "menuText": "Reading List Test",
        "subMenu": ""
I don't use the RL plugin. But since it was made by kiwidude, it is probably integrated into the favourites menu plugin (which cailbre actions is based on), by providing a constant unique name per menu item regardless of the display name.
capink is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2020, 11:37 AM   #53
compurandom
Guru
compurandom ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.compurandom ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.compurandom ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.compurandom ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.compurandom ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.compurandom ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.compurandom ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.compurandom ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.compurandom ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.compurandom ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.compurandom ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 645
Karma: 294342
Join Date: Jun 2015
Device: kobo aura h2o, kobo forma
Quote:
Originally Posted by capink View Post
Problem is, if you run the chain multiple times, you will have leftover marks from the previous run. My plan was to recommend using calibre's clear all marked books at the start of every chain that might use marks, but if that is causing troubles as you are reporting, I will need an alternative solution.
You shouldn't need to find the plugin to clear the tags.
You can manipulate the marked books hash directly in your plugin.

Options I would suggest
  • reset the hash to {} in an optional first item in the chain
  • if you have an option to set a named mark for affected books, also have an option to clear previous marks by that name, and delete them from the hash directly
compurandom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2020, 12:02 PM   #54
capink
Addict
capink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipedia
 
Posts: 263
Karma: 47128
Join Date: Aug 2015
Device: Kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by compurandom View Post
You shouldn't need to find the plugin to clear the tags.
You can manipulate the marked books hash directly in your plugin.

Options I would suggest
  • reset the hash to {} in an optional first item in the chain
  • if you have an option to set a named mark for affected books, also have an option to clear previous marks by that name, and delete them from the hash directly
I specifically made it in a way that enables the user to set more than one mark per book for whatever purpose he wants, without overwriting any pre-existing marks from other plugins for example.

In light of this, deleting all marks (from all sources) is something that I'd like to leave to the user to decide according to his needs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by compurandom View Post
if you have an option to set a named mark for affected books, also have an option to clear previous marks by that name
That option is already there.
capink is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2020, 02:35 PM   #55
ownedbycats
Wizard
ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 1,555
Karma: 3006738
Join Date: Oct 2018
Device: Kobo Aura HD
Quote:
Originally Posted by capink View Post
I don't use the RL plugin. But since it was made by kiwidude, it is probably integrated into the favourites menu plugin (which cailbre actions is based on), by providing a constant unique name per menu item regardless of the display name.
Hmm, adding Show Marked Books to the Favourites menu and then changing the number of marked books greys it out.
ownedbycats is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2020, 03:43 PM   #56
capink
Addict
capink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipedia
 
Posts: 263
Karma: 47128
Join Date: Aug 2015
Device: Kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by ownedbycats View Post
Hmm, adding Show Marked Books to the Favourites menu and then changing the number of marked books greys it out.
Yes, I tested that and got the same result. I had a fix that should be part of the next release.
capink is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2020, 08:09 PM   #57
capink
Addict
capink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipedia
 
Posts: 263
Karma: 47128
Join Date: Aug 2015
Device: Kindle
New version attached to the first post

Version 0.1.2
  • Update: Add marked column to single field edit action.
  • Fix: Error when changing action because settings of the old action linger and cause validation error with the new action.
  • Fix: Turn off the wait cursor temporarily while single edit field dialog are on.
  • Fix: Refresh gui after running chain.
  • Fix: Error with calibre show marked books.

Notes about the using the marked field:
  • The marked field is a multiple value field that can used to add more than one text mark per book. The comma is used as a separator.
  • The marked field gives you the ability to delete specific mark text, in the same way you can remove certain tags.
  • The marked field does not overwrite old marks by other plugins, it add the extra marks alongside the old ones.
  • when using marks in a chain, take into account that you might have leftover marks from previous runs of the same chain. So it is advised to clear all the marks using a Calibre action that uses calibre's clear all marked books. (use it as the first action in the chain)

Note
  • Calibre actions containing "show all marked books" needs to be destroyed (by changing the action temporarily) and re-added for the fix to work.

Last edited by capink; 11-28-2020 at 09:37 AM.
capink is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2020, 02:53 AM   #58
ownedbycats
Wizard
ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 1,555
Karma: 3006738
Join Date: Oct 2018
Device: Kobo Aura HD
I ran into a very silly bug. If you make an action chain with no actions and then try to run it, you get an error instead of a message box saying "add some actions to this, you dimwit."

Last edited by ownedbycats; 11-30-2020 at 02:56 AM.
ownedbycats is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2020, 03:38 PM   #59
capink
Addict
capink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipediacapink knows more than wikipedia
 
Posts: 263
Karma: 47128
Join Date: Aug 2015
Device: Kindle
Here is a new test version of this plugin:
  • The main change is that the add actions dialog is re-written as a table dialog. This makes it more compact and allows for moving actions up and down to change the order. Also a new comment field is added which can be used as an identifier to differentiate actions.
  • The config dialog was also re-written to allow for more flexibility when adding features in the future.

On the surface, this might not look like a major update, but a lot of the underlying code has been re-written. So, you are advised to backup your "Action Chains.json" file, just in case something goes wrong. The file can be found in calibre's plugin directory.
capink is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2020, 03:43 PM   #60
ownedbycats
Wizard
ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 1,555
Karma: 3006738
Join Date: Oct 2018
Device: Kobo Aura HD
I updated with no harm to my prior action chains.

The main thing I noticed is that the "Add Actions" window is initially very tiny and I had to widen it to even be able to see the comments and error columns, but that might be because the settings carried over from the old version.

Personally I'd put "Settings" to the right of "Comment," but that's personal preference. (Making the columns movable would work.)

Column widths reset every time I re-open the dialog. Default width for "Action" column is a bit wide too.

Adding comments to all my actions now. It'll be nice to not have to guess which one I need to open.

Click image for larger version

Name:	2020-11-30 15_54_25-Add actions.png
Views:	41
Size:	36.3 KB
ID:	183700

Last edited by ownedbycats; 11-30-2020 at 03:58 PM.
ownedbycats is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[GUI Plugin] KindleUnpack - The Plugin DiapDealer Plugins 464 01-04-2021 07:38 PM
[GUI Plugin] Save Virtual Libraries To Column (GUI) chaley Plugins 12 12-27-2020 02:31 PM
[GUI Plugin] Manga plugin mastertea Plugins 0 10-20-2019 03:45 PM
[GUI Plugin] Wordpress frescogamba Plugins 11 04-06-2015 10:09 PM
[GUI Plugin] Plugin Updater **Deprecated** kiwidude Plugins 159 06-19-2011 01:27 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:15 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.